#### **Organizing Committee**

- Prof. Anne Co, OSU, Chair
- Prof. Daniel Scherson Case, Co-Chair
- Dr. James Wu, NASA Glenn, Program Chair
- Dr. Maria Inman, Faraday Technology, Treasurer
- Prof. Gerardine Botte, Ohio U, Poster Session Chair
- Prof. James Burgess, Case, Student Chapter Liaison
- Dr. EJ Taylor, Faraday Technology, Industry Liaison
- Prof. Mekki Bayachou, Poster Session Co-Chair

#### **ECS Student Chapter Representatives**

- Ms. Katie Muhlenkamp, OSU
- Mr. Ali Estejab, Ohio U
- Mr. Stephen Banik, Cleveland/YCES
- Mr. Kunal Kumar, UC



September 19-20, 2014 Ohio State University, Columbus, OH

### **PROGRAM**













## **Program**

# Friday, September 19<sup>th</sup>, 2014 Physics Research Building Atrium (191 W. Woodruff Ave)

12:30 pm	Registration desk opens at the Physics Research Building Atrium	
1:00-2:30	Tour of OSU Center for Automotive Research (CAR) including brief battery research presentation by Prof. Giorgio Rizzoni, Director of CAR (Meet at 1 pm at the Registration Desk and car pool to CAR, or meet at 1:15 pm at CAR)	
2:30-2:40	Introduction and Opening Remarks for ElectrochemOhio 2014	
SESSION I Chair: Prof. Anne Co		
2:40-3:20	<b>Plenary Talk</b> – Dr. Khalil Amine, Argonne National Lab, <i>Advanced High Energy and High Power Battery Systems for Automotive Applications</i>	
3:20-3:50	Prof. Umit Ozkan, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, OSU, Strontium Cobalt Ferrite Perovskites as Electrocatalysts for Solid Oxide Fuel Cells: Effect of the A- and B-Site Substitution	
3:50-4:20	Dr. Andy Webber, Energizer, <i>Recent Advances in Primary Lithium Batteries at Energizer</i>	
4:20-4:30	Break	
SESSION II Chair: Prof. Jim Burgess		
4:30-5:00	Prof. Hannah Shafaat, Chemistry and Biochemistry, OSU, <i>Electrocatalytic Hydrogen Production Performed by Model Protein Scaffolds</i>	
5:00-5:15	Fei Lu, Ohio University Electrochemically Induced Conversion of Urea to Ammonia	
5:15-5:30	Brandon W. Whitman, Michigan State University <i>Understanding the Structure and Corrosion Inhibition of Trivalent Chromium Process Coatings on Aluminum Alloys</i>	
5:30-5:45	Mingzhe Yu, Chemistry and Biochemistry, OSU <i>Integrating a Redox-Coupled Dye-</i> Sensitized Photoelectrode into a Lithium-Oxygen Battery for Photo-Assisted Charging	
5:45-6:00	Cory A. Rusinek, University of Cincinnati <i>Cloud Point Extraction for Electroanalysis:</i> Anodic Stripping Voltammetry of Cadmium	
6:00-7:30	Student Poster Session and Dinner	

### **Program**

#### Saturday, September 20<sup>th</sup>, 2014 McPherson Chemical Lab Room 1000 (140 W. 18<sup>th</sup> Ave)

		,	
		Session III Chair: Dr. EJ Taylor	
	9:10-9:50	<b>Plenary Talk</b> – Prof. Andy Gewirth, Chemistry, UIUC, <i>Techniques in Surface Electrochemistry and Their Relationship to Energy Research</i>	
	9:50-10:20	Prof. Uziel Landau, Chemical Engineering, CWRU, The Technology and Science of Electroplating Nano-Features	
	10:20-10:30	Break	
Session IV Chairs: Profs. Gerardine Botte and Mekki Bayachou			
	10:30-10:45 10:45-11:00 11:00-11:15 11:15-11:30	Student finalist presentation 1 Student finalist presentation 2 Student finalist presentation 3 Student finalist presentation 4	
	Session V Chair: Dr. James Wu		
	11:30-12:00	Prof. Gerald Frankel, Material Sciences and Engineering, OSU Mechanism of Hydrogen Evolution on Dissolving Mg Surfaces	
	12:00-1:30	Catered lunch	
	1:30-2:00	Prof. Shigeru Amemiya, University of Pittsburgh. <i>Electrochemistry of Ultraclean Graphene and Graphite: Recent Progress</i>	
	2:00-2:30	Prof. Gerardine Botte, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Ohio University <i>Graphene from Coal Char: Synthesis and Applications</i>	
	2:30-3:00	Dr. Thomas Moffat, NIST, Electrochemical Deposition of Pt-(Fe, Co, Ni) Alloys: Self-Terminated Growth to Underpotential Co-Deposition	
	Session VI Chair: Dr. Maria Inman		
	3:00-3:30	Prof. Zhenmeng Peng, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Akron Surfactant-Free Production and Electrocatalytic Property of Pt Nanoparticles with Tailored Particle Morphology	
	3:30-4:00	Prof. Anne Co, Chemistry and Biochemistry, OSU <i>Electrocatalysis of O</i> <sub>2</sub> and CO <sub>2</sub> : Monolayers, Thin films, and Porous Electrodes	
	4:00-4:15	Announcement of Travel Award Winners	

4:15-4:30

**Concluding Remarks**