Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links

GU Malignancies

Program Themes

  • Discover mechanisms of response and resistance in prostate and renal cancer
  • Develop novel biomarkers across GU malignancies
  • Ascertain the immunomodulatory environment and develop novel immunotherapeutic clinical trials 

Program Information

The overarching goal of the GU Malignancies Program is to explore fundamental biologic pathways of critical importance to the development and progression of prostate and renal cancer and to foster translational, investigator-initiated clinical trials to advance therapeutic options.

To provide additional structure and promote cohesion within the larger Program, investigators have been further organized around two scientific focus areas:

  • Prostate Cancer - includes genetic susceptibility and molecular basis, chemoprevention, molecular biomarkers of prognosis and therapeutic targeting of the IGF and PI3K/Akt/mTOR axis
  • Renal Cancer - includes molecular and clinical biomarkers of prognosis, response and resistance; immunomodulatory effects of treatment, and therapeutic targeting of angiogenesis and the PI3K/Akt/mTOR axis

Program Members

Tatiana V. Byzova, PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Cardiology
byzovat@ccf.org

Steven C. Campbell, MD, PhD
Professor, Urology
campbes3@ccf.org

Matthew M. Cooney, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
matthew.cooney@UHhospitals.org

David Danielpour, PhD
Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
dxd49@case.edu

Claudia M. Diaz-Montero, PhD
Assistant Professor, Immunology
diazc@ccf.org

James H. Finke, PhD
Professor, Immunology
finkej@ccf.org

Jorge A. Garcia, MD
Assistant Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
garciaj4@ccf.org

Timothy D. Gilligan, MD
Associate Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
gilligt@ccf.org

Magdalena M. Grabowska, PhD
Assistant Professor, Urology
mmg126@case.edu

Sanjay Gupta, PhD
Professor, Urology
sanjay.gupta@case.edu

Ann Harris, PhD
Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
ann.harris@case.edu

Hannelore Heemers, PhD
Associate Staff, Cancer Biology
heemerh@ccf.org

Christopher J. Hoimes, DO
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology
christopher.hoimes@case.edu 

Simon P. Kim, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Urology
simon.kim@UHhospitals.org

Eric A. Klein, MD
Professor, Urology
kleine@ccf.org

Byron Lee, MD, PhD
Associate Staff, Urology
leeb4@ccf.org

Gregory T. MacLennan, MD
Professor, Pathology
gregory.maclennan@UHhospitals.org

Cristina Magi-Galluzzi, MD, PhD
Professor, Anatomic Pathology
magic@ccf.org

Carvell Nguyen, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Surgery-Urology
cnguyen4@metrohealth.org

Lee E. Ponsky, MD
Professor, Urology
lee.ponsky@UHhospitals.org

Brian I. Rini, MD
Co-Leader, GU Malignancies Program
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
rinib2@ccf.org

Nima Sharifi, MD
Co-Leader, GU Malignancies Program
Associate Professor, Cancer Biology
sharifn@ccf.org

Sanjeev Shukla, PhD
Instructor, Urology
sanjeev.shukla@case.edu

Robert H. Silverman, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
silverr@ccf.org

Jonathan D. Smith, PhD
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
smithj4@ccf.org

George R. Stark, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
starkg@ccf.org

Andrew J. Stephenson, MD
Associate Professor, Urology
stephea2@ccf.org

Giuseppe Strangi, PhD
Professor, Physics
gxs284@case.edu

Angela H. Ting, PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Medicine
tinga@ccf.org

Oliver Wessely, PhD
Associate Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
wesselo@ccf.org

Program Leaders

 

Brian I. Rini, MD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
rinib2@ccf.org

 

Nima Sharifi, MD
Associate Professor, Cancer Biology
sharifn@ccf.org