Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links
Institutional Research

Campus Awards

Campus Awards

The university administers a number of award programs to recognize and celebrate the achievements of our faculty members who continually push the boundaries of knowledge, explore new possibilities, and enhance the world by their accomplishments.

The Faculty Distinguished Research Award was established in 2013 to recognize those who uphold and build upon Case Western Reserve’s history as an innovative, research-driven institution, and established national and international reputations for their research or creative projects.  

2017 Award Recipients

Fabio Cominelli - School of Medicine

Mark Griswold - School of Medicine

Ruth A. Keri - School of Medicine

Scott Shane - Weatherhead School of Management

Ted Steinberg - College of Arts and Sciences

2016 Award Recipients

Liming Dai - Case School of Engineering

Melvyn Goldstein - College of Arts and Sciences

Michael Lederman - School of Medicine

Kalle Lyytinen - Weatherhead School of Management

2015 Award Recipients

David Cooperrider – Weatherhead School of Management

B. Jessie Hill – School of Law

Mukesh Jain – School of Medicine

Stuart Rowan – Case School of Engineering

Elisabeth Werner – College of Arts and Sciences

2014 Award Recipients

Dominique Durand- Case School of Engineering

James Kazura – School of Medicine

Peter Ritchken – Weatherhead School of Management

Michael Weiss – School of Medicine

2013 Award Recipients

Hatsuo Ishida – Case School of Engineering

Sanford Markowitz – School of Medicine

Shirley Moore – Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

Zehra Meral Ozsoyoglu – Case School of Engineering

Krzysztof Palczewski – School of Medicine

Charles Rosenblatt – College of Arts and Sciences 

The Distinguished University Professor is an honorific title awarded to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of full-time, tenured professors with a distinguished academic record of extraordinary research, scholarship, teaching and service.  Learn more >


Current Recipients


Mary D. Barkley, PhD, M. Roger Clapp University Professor of Arts and Sciences

David L. Cooperrider, PhD, Fairmount Santrol - David L. Cooperrider Professor in Appreciative Inquiry and Professor, Organizational Behavior 

Dr. Krzysztof (Kris) Palczewski,  John H. Hord Professor and Chair of Pharmacology 

Glenn Starkman, Professor of physics and astronomy and Director of the Center for Education and Research in Cosmology and Astrophysics


View Past Recipients



The Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize was established in 1994 by Dorothy Humel Hovorka “to recognize exceptional achievement by an active or emeritus member of the faculty.” The Prize is conferred during the annual commencement convocation.  Click here to download a list of all winners. 
Date  Recipient  School
2017  Jackson Wright  Medicine
2016  Eva Kahana  Arts and Sciences
2015  Robert C. Elston  Medicine
2014  Karen Olness  Medicine
2013  James M. Andersn  Medicine
2012  Melvyn Goldstein  Arts and Sciences
2011  John C. Angus  Engineering
2010  Robert H. Binstock  Medicine, Nursing
2009  P. Hunter Peckham  Engineering
2008  Arthur H. Heuer  Engineering
2007  Nathan A. Berger  Medicine
2006  Amasa Ford and John Kennell  Medicine
2005  Mihajlo Mesarovic  Engineering
2004  May Louise Wykle  Nursing
2003  Simon Ostrach  Engineering
2002  Herman D. Stein  Applied Social Sciences
2001  Richard W. Hanson  Medicine
2000  Cynthia Beall  Arts and Sciences
1999  Arthur G. Steinberg  Arts and Sciences
1998  Eric Baer  Engineering
1997  David D. Van Tassel  Arts and Sciences
1996  Marie Haug  Arts and Sciences



Carl F. Wittke Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching - is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching.


J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring - recognizes the positive impact Case Western Reserve University faculty and staff have on the lives of students. 


John S. Diekhoff Award for Graduate Teaching and Mentoring - is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University.