case western reserve university



180 Events from 180 Years: 1950s


John S. Millis was inaugurated as Western Reserve University's last president.


Western Reserve University became the first American university to offer regular university courses for credit in a combination of television broadcast and home study.


Western Reserve Trustees established the School of Business, later renamed Weatherhead School of Management. Pictured here is Clarence H. (Red) Cramer, first dean of the School.


Groundbreaking ceremonies were held for the William E. Wickenden Electrical Engineering Building at Case Institute of Technology. A closed-circuit television system provided a new teaching tool.


Dr. Frederick C. Robbins, Western Reserve University professor of pediatrics, received the Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology. Robbins was later dean of the School of Medicine and University Professor.


From the basement of the Mather Memorial Building, Western Reserve University's student radio station, WRAR-AM, went on the air for the first time.


The first class using the newly revised Medical School curriculum graduated. The new curriculum introduced a first year student to patient care and the clinical setting.


Camp Case, in Mohican State Forest near Loudonville, Ohio, closed. It served as a summer surveying camp for Case Institute of Technology students for 21 years.


Case President T. Keith Glennan became the first administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Alumnus and trustee, Kent H. Smith (pictured here), was named acting president of Case.


Center for Documentation and Communication Research, part of the School of Library Science, conducted an extensive program of research in the development of devices and methods for information storage and retrieval. Pictured are Eric Pietsch (L) and James Perry (R), director of the Center, in front of the Searching Selector, the machine used to perform searches.

Information was compiled by staff of the Case Western Reserve Archives, February 2006.