Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links

School of
Medicine

Faculty

Meet the Faculty

Case Center for Imaging Research (CCIR) faculty come from diverse fields, have a rich, collaborative culture and encourage serendipity of discovery. This long history of teamwork exists between researchers from broad scientific areas, including: pharmacology, cancer biology, biomedical engineering, electrical engineering and material engineering, as well as physicians (including radiologists, surgeons, urologists, and oncologists).

Norbert Avril, MD

Professor and Research Scholar, Department of Radiology, Case Western Reserve University norbert.avril@case.edu 216.286.3210 (o)

James P. Basilion, PhD

Professor, Radiology and Biomedical Engineering; Secondary Appointments: Cancer Center, Pathology; Director, Case Center for Imaging Research james.basilion@case.edu 216.983.3264 (o)

Elizabeth G. Damato, PhD, RN, CPNP

Associate Professor of Nursing, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, CWRU, Cleveland, OH; Secondary appointment in Neuroscience, CWRU School of Medicine egd@case.edu 216.368.2597 (o)

Michael J. Decker, PhD, RN, RRT, D. ABSM

Associate Professor of Nursing, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing; Secondary Appointments in Physiology & Biophysics, Neuroscience, CWRU School of Medicine mjd6@case.edu 216.368.2912 (o)

Agata A. Exner, PhD

Professor, Radiology & Biomedical Engineering agata.exner@case.edu 216.368.6727 (o)

Chris A. Flask, PhD

Associate Professor of Radiology, Secondary Appointments: Biomedical Engineering, and Pediatrics; Scientific Director, Case Center for Imaging Research caf@case.edu 216.844.4963 (o)

Peter F. Faulhaber, MD

Professor of Radiology, Case Western Reserve University; Director, Clinical PET University Case Medical Center peter.faulhaber@uhhospitals.org 216.844.5369 (o)

Mark Griswold, PhD

Professor, Department of Radiology; Secondary Appointments: Biomedical Engineering, Physics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science mark.griswold@case.edu 216.844.8085 (o)

Vikas Gulani, MD, PhD

Associate Professor of Radiology; Secondary Appointments: Biomedical Engineering, and Urology; Member, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center; Director of MRI vikas@case.edu 216.844.3112 (o)

Efstathios (Stathis) Karathanasis, PhD

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering & Radiology stathis@case.edu 216.368.4617 (o)

Zhenghong Lee, PhD

Professor, Radiology; Secondary Appointments: Biomedical Engineering, General Medical Sciences (Oncology, Stem Cell) zhenghong.lee@case.edu 216.844.7920 (o)

Zheng-Rong Lu, PhD

M. Frank and Margaret Domiter Rudy Professor of Biomedical Engineering zxl125@case.edu 216.368.0187 (o)

Anant Madabhushi, PhD

Professor, Departments of Biomedical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Division of General Medical Sciences, Urology, Radiology, Pathology; Director, Center for Computational Imaging and Personalized Diagnostics anant.madabhushi@case.edu 216.368.8519 (o)

Raymond F. Muzic, Jr., PhD

Professor, Radiology; Secondary Appointments: Biomedical Engineering and Oncology raymond.muzic@case.edu 216.844.3543 (o)

Ronald D. Novak, PhD, MPH, MPA

Associate Professor, Radiology rdn@case.edu 216.844.7519 (o)

James K. O’Donnell, MD

Professor of Radiology, CWRU School of Medicine; Director, Nuclear Medicine, University Hospitals Case Medical Center Jamesk.odonnell@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3319 (o)

Donna Plecha, MD

Associate Professor, Radiology, CWRU School of Medicine; Director, Breast Imaging, Mammography, University Hospitals Case Medical Center; Director, Breast Cancer Imaging, UH Seidman Cancer Center donna.plecha@uhhospitals.org 216.844.5330 (o)

Andrew Rollins, PhD

Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Medicine andrew.rollins@case.edu 216.368.1017 (o)

Pablo R. Ros, MD, MPH, PhD

Theodore J. Castele University Professor and Chairman Department of Radiology; Secondary Appointments: Pathology, Case Western Reserve University; Radiologist-in-Chief, University Hospitals Health System pablo.ros@UHhospitals.org 216.983.4829 (o)

Nicole Seiberlich, PhD

Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering; Electrical Engineering and Computer Science nes30@case.edu 216.368.6248 (o)

Nicole Steinmetz, PhD

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering; Secondary appointments: Radiology; Materials Science and Engineering, Macromolecular Science and Engineering nicole.steinmetz@case.edu 216.368.4377 (o)

Jeffrey Sunshine, MD, PhD

Professor, Radiology, Neurology and Neurosurgery, CWRU School of Medicine; Vice Chairman, Department of Radiology, University Hospitals and Case Western Reserve University; Chief Medical Information Officer, University Hospitals jeffrey.sunshine@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3112 (o)

Pallavi Tiwari, PhD

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering pxt130@case.edu 216.368.0177 (o)

Yanming Wang, PhD

Professor of Radiology, Chemistry, and Biomedical Engineering; Director of Radiopharmaceutical Division Case Center for Imaging Research yanming.wang@case.edu 216.844.3288 (o)

David L. Wilson, PhD

Robert J. Herbold Professor of Biomedical Engineering dlw@case.edu 216.368.4099/88 (o)

Xin Yu, ScD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering xin.yu@case.edu 216.368.3918 (o)