Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links

School of

Mentor Research Interests

Examples of Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program Mentors

  • Derek Abbott, Ph.D. - Crohn's Disease.
  • Robert Bonomo, MD - Structure function relationships of the class A beta- lactamase.
  • Susann Brady-Kalnay, Ph.D. - Receptor protein tyrosine phosphatases, cell adhesion, signal transduction, and cancer.
  • Matthias Buck, Ph.D. - Structural Biology and computational modeling, protein dynamics, small GTPases, transmembrane receptors.
  • Mark Chance, Ph.D. - Structural and cellular proteomics.
  • Brian Cobb, Ph.D. - Structure, function, and immune responses against bacterial carbohydrates.
  • Jeffrey Coller, Ph.D. - Investigating the interconnection between mRNA translation and mRNA stability.
  • Mitchell Drumm, Ph.D. - Cystic Fibrosis.
  • George Dubyak, Ph.D. - Analysis of receptor signaling systems in inflammatory responses and cell death.
  • Dominique Durand, Ph.D. - Neural engineering - computational neuroscience, engineering, electrophysiology.
  • Agata Exner, Ph.D. - Minimally invasive methods of cancer treatment.
  • Stanton Gerson, Ph.D. - Stem Cell Biology.
  • Clifford Harding, MD, Ph.D. - Immunology.
  • Peter Harte, Ph.D. - Regulation of homeotic gene expression.
  • Maria Hatzoglou, Ph.D. - Translational control in catabolic stress conditions.
  • Alex Huang, MD, Ph.D. - Immune activation and tolerance in the pathogenesis of cancer
  • Mark Jackson, Ph.D. - Genetics of breast cancer.
  • Ruth Keri, Ph.D. - Breast cancer.
  • Alan Levine, Ph.D. - HIV, Mucosal Immunology, T cell signal transduction
  • Shigemi Matsuyama, Ph.D. - Molecular mechanism of apoptosis regulation by Bcl-2 family proteins.
  • Monica Montano, Ph.D. - Factors involved in ER-dependent growth of breast cancer cells.
  • Arne Rietsch, Ph.D. - Primary virulence mechanism of P. aeruginosa
  • Jerry Silver, Ph.D. - Role of glial cells in development and regeneration of neural circuits.
  • Carlos Subauste, MD - Role of CD40 and autophagy in host- pathogen interactions.
  • Paul Tesar, Ph.D. - Molecular regulation of cell identity and development.
  • Johannes von Linting, Ph.D. - Role of retinoids in vision, cell proliferation and metabolic control.
  • Anthony Wynshaw-Boris, MD, Ph.D. - Mechanisms and therapies of human neurogenetic diseases using stem cells and mice
  • Richard Zigmond, Ph.D. - Nervous system plasticity.
  • Peter Zimmerman, Ph.D. - Mechanisms of drug resistance to Plasmodium falciparum.

Questions? Call us!



Application season opens on December 1.

Priority will be given to applications received before January 31. Applicants will be reviewed immediately following this date and offers will be made on a rolling basis.

We will continue to accept applications until our final deadline of March 15th.

Social Media
Facebook Twitter YouTube