Campus Communications

August 6, 2009

Invitation to Nominate for Honorary Degree

The global achievements and reputations of Case Western Reserve University honorary degree recipients reflects on the quality of our University and its international reputation. Thus the University encourages members of the commununity to nominate absolutely outstanding candidates whose stature is commensurate with that of our institution.

The University confers honorary degrees to recognize persons who exemplify in their work the highest ideals and standards of excellence in "any valued aspect of human endeavor, including the realm of scholarship, public service, and the performing arts." (Faculty Handbook, 3, III.X)

Current members of the faculty, the staff, or the Board of Trustees are not eligible to receive an honorary degree.

The honorary degree committee, chaired by Provost W. A. "Bud" Baeslack, includes: Cynthia Beall, Arts and Sciences; John Lewandowski, Engineering; Mark Hans, Dental Medicine; Michael Scharf, Law; David Clingingsmith, Management; Nathan Berger, Medicine; Diana Morris, Nursing; Sharon Milligan, Applied Social Sciences; Patrick Kennedy, Physical Education and Athletics; and ex-officio members University Marshal Robin Dubin; Deputy Provost Lynn Singer and University Vice President Emeritus and Provost Emeritus Richard Zdanis. Nominations for honorary degrees to be conferred at commencement 2011 or 2012 will be reviewed during the fall semester 2009.

The University community is invited to submit nominations, following the guidelines below, via e-mail to Lois Langell or to any committee member. The committee will consider recommendations received by September 15, 2009, and any recommendations submitted last year that were selected for reconsideration in 2009. Nominators whose recommendations were selected for reconsideration have been notified.

To submit a nomination for a full review, please complete the RECOMMENDATION FOR AWARD OF AN HONORARY DEGREE FORM.

Incomplete nominations will not be considered.