Campus Communications

August 4, 2008

Invitation to Nominate for Honorary Degree

Case Western Reserve University invites recommendations for honorary degrees. The University confers honorary degrees to recognize persons who exemplify in their work the highest ideals and standards of excellence in "any valued aspect of human endeavor, including the realm of scholarship, public service, and the performing arts." (Faculty Handbook, 3, III.X) Current members of the faculty, the staff, or the Board of Trustees are not eligible to receive an honorary degree.

A committee chaired by the provost and consisting of Cynthia Beall, Arts and Sciences; John Lewandowski, Engineering; Mark Hans, Dental Medicine; Jacqueline Lipton, Law; member to be named from Management; Nathan Berger, Medicine; Diana Morris, Nursing; Sharon Milligan, Applied Social Sciences; Patrick Kennedy, Physical Education and Athletics; University Marshal Robin Dubin; Deputy Provost Lynn Singer; University Vice President Emeritus and Provost Emeritus Richard Zdanis, will meet this fall to review nominations for honorary degrees to be conferred at commencement 2010 or 2011.

The university community is invited to submit nominations, following the guidelines below, via e-mail c/o Lois Langell (Lois Langell), or to any committee member. The committee will consider recommendations received by September 15, 2008, and any recommendations submitted last year that were selected for reconsideration in 2008. Nominators whose recommendations were selected for reconsideration have been notified.

To submit a nomination for a full review, please include the information listed below. Incomplete nominations will not be considered.

Recommendation for Award of an Honorary Degree

Submit by September 15, 2008 for review in the fall semester 2008.




____ Nominating letter(s)
____ Nominee's vita or biography
____ Other materials (optional)


Contact information:
Status: (student, faculty, staff, alumna/us)