Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links
University Technology, [U]Tech

Understand Default Roles

Understand Default Roles

Understanding default roles

Roles are groups of members who have the same permissions within your group. For example, you might have a role for all members who just read questions and another role to read and respond to questions. A member can have multiple roles.

There are three default roles created for every Google group. These default roles are: Owner, Manager, and Member.

The Owner role

The Owner role has the highest level of permissions and contains only the UTech group responsible for overseeing Google Groups @case.edu:

  • Owners have the most permissions of any member.
  • Owners can add other roles and even delete the group itself.
  • Permissions for the Owner role can’t be modified.
  • This role cannot be removed.

The Manager role

The Manager role is assigned to the creator of a Google group by default. Managers generally have more permissions than members, but fewer permissions than owners. Other characteristics of this role are:

  • Managers primarily have member and message management responsibilities.
  • Managers can add or remove managers.
  • This role cannot be removed.

The Member role

All members of a group belong to the Member role by default. Other characteristics of this role are:

  • Any permission set on the Member role is automatically set on all other roles.
  • Permissions set in the Member role are selected and grayed out in the other roles.
  • This role cannot be removed.