Baker-Nord Center Award for Distinguished Scholarship in the Humanities


The Baker-Nord Center Award for Distinguished Scholarship in the Humanities recognizes the outstanding scholarship of Case Western Reserve University faculty in the Humanities and their contribution to the university’s reputation. The Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences will present the award to acknowledge exceptional contributions in the humanities by faculty who have established national and international reputations for their achievements.

The award is intended to recognize outstanding achievement in a field of humanistic scholarship. The award will consist of a plaque and a monetary award of $5,000, which will be provided as a discretionary account to support further scholarship. Awards will be announced at the beginning of the academic year, and award recipients are expected to deliver a public lecture during the spring semester.

Previous Recipients:

2021-2022 -
Michael Clune, Samuel B. and Virginia C. Knight Professor of Humanities
Department of English

2020-2021 -
Elina Gertsman, Archbishop Paul J. Hallinan Professor in Catholic Studies II
Department of Art History and Art

2019-2020 - 
Jonathan Sadowsky, Theodore J. Castele Professor
Department of History

2018-2019 -
Timothy Beal, Florence Harkness Professor of Religion
Department of Religious Studies

2017-2018 -
Henry Adams, Ruth Coulter Heede Professor of Art History
Department of Art History and Art

2016-2017 -
Jenifer Neils, Elsie B. Smith Professor in the Liberal Arts
Department of Classics

2015-2016 -
John Grabowski, Krieger-Mueller Joint Professor of History
Department of History

Thrity Umrigar, Distinguished University Professor
Department of English


The Baker-Nord Center Award for Distinguished Scholarship in the Humanities is open to all members of the university faculty, including department chairs and those in other administrative positions.

Selection Criteria

The award is given to individuals who have made a significant contribution to humanistic scholarship. This contribution could be long-term and cumulative over the course of a career or a single, particularly impactful accomplishment. All scholarly contributions will be considered, but special consideration will be given to work completed at Case Western Reserve University.

Selection Committee

A selection committee appointed by the Director of the Baker-Nord Center for the Humanities in consultation with the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and the Vice President for Research shall choose the award recipient. The committee shall consist of distinguished senior faculty in the humanities who reflect the intellectual diversity of the university.

Nomination Procedures

Every other year, the Baker-Nord Center for the Humanities will issue a call for nominations. Any member of the faculty may submit a nomination. The nomination package must include:

  1. A letter detailing the rationale for the nomination, summarizing the nominee’s scholarly achievements, and outlining the national and international significance of the nominee’s work.  
  1. A current curriculum vitae of the candidate.

Nomination Deadline: April 15, 2023

Materials should be emailed as a single PDF to: