2011 Academic Awards

Presented Wednesday, April 27, 2011

The Ignacio Ocasio Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award

    Highest Achievement in Freshman Chemistry

Iota Sigma Pi / Frank Hovorka Prize

    Woman Chemistry Major with the Highest Average after Three Semesters

Olin Freeman Tower Prize

    Excellence in Physical Chemistry (BA)

Carl F. Prutton Prize

    Scholarship in Chemistry

W. R. Veazey Prize

    Excellence in Physical Chemistry (BS)

Analytical Chemistry Award

    Outstanding Analytical Chemistry

Hippolyte Gruener Award

    Student Merit in Chemistry

Charles F. Mabery Prize

    Best Thesis in Undergraduate Chemistry Research

Merck Index Award

    Outstanding Chemistry Student

Hypercube Scholar Award

Inorganic Chemistry Award

    Excellence in Inorganic Chemistry

Dumitru and Gheorghe D. Mateescu Student Citizenship Award

    Undergraduate Student Recipient

Dumitru and Gheorghe D. Mateescu Student Citizenship Award

    Graduate Student Recipient

Graduate Teaching Award

Graduate Dean's Instructional Excellence Award

Outstanding Presentation

ACS Cleveland Meeting-in-Miniature – Ursuline College, Pepper Pike, OH "A Modular Isotopomer Synthesis of γ-Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) Reveals Catabolism via Alpha Oxidation" March 16, 2011

Outstanding Chemistry Alumna

Pauline Yen Ho was presented the 2011 Outstanding Alumna Award on Wednesday, 27 April. She received her B.A. in Chemistry from Case Western Reserve University, Flora Stone Mather College in 1969. She received her M.B.A. degree with distinction in 1972 at Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management. Pauline Yen Ho was Vice-President of Strategic Marketing, Pharmaceuticals Group (Asia-Pacific, Japan, Latin America) with Johnson & Johnson from 2003-2010. She retired in April 2010 after 41 years of professional life of which 37 were with Johnson & Johnson.