

have worked hand in hand with the Faculty Senate, and most importantly to the faculty members who serve as elected senators and members of standing committees. Highlighted in this newsletter are some the Senate's activities so far this year.

<u>Prof. Alan Levine</u>, chair and <u>Prof. Gary Chottiner</u>, chair-elect <u>Prof. Carol Musil</u>, past chair <u>Liz Woyczynski</u>, secretary of the university faculty

### **New Websites**

There are new websites for the <u>Faculty Senate</u>, <u>Faculty Handbook</u> and <u>Faculty</u> <u>Senate By-laws</u>.

In fall 2009, the Faculty Senate Committee on By-laws, chaired by Prof. Christine Cano (CAS), put forth a proposal that the website for the Faculty Senate – including the Faculty Handbook and the Senate By-laws – be updated. The proposal was voted a top priority by the Faculty Senate, and the Office of the President and the Provost generously funded the project.

The <u>Faculty Handbook</u> is now a functional web publication, which is much easier to navigate than a pdf copy. It has a "print friendly" option for each section.

The faculty handbooks at most universities are just pdfs. Many CWRU offices still find the pdf copy of the handbook very useful, especially for printing full copies as desk references. The pdf version of the CWRU Faculty Handbook is still accessible on the website.

The <u>Faculty Senate By-laws</u> are also now a fully functional web publication, with print friendly options on each page. The pdf version is still available on the website.

When work was delayed on the web design, the Office of Marketing and Communications kindly agreed to hire an outside contractor (at some additional expense to their office) to help us complete the project. We're grateful for their support.

We welcome continued input about how the websites can be made most useful to the Faculty Senate and the University Faculty.

# **Recruiting Faculty**

The Faculty Senate Nominating Committee, chaired by <u>Prof. Susan Tullai-</u> <u>McGuinness</u> (SON), is recruiting faculty for openings on faculty senate committees for the 2011-2012 academic year. There are 16 committees and subcommittees; their charges and current membership are posted on the web.

 Budget Committee

 Committee on By-laws

 Committee on Faculty Compensation

 Committee on Faculty Personnel

 Committee on Graduate Studies

 Committee on Information and Communication Technology

 Committee on Minority Affairs

 Nominating Committee

 Committee on Research

 Committee on Undergraduate Education

 FSCUE Academic Standing Subcommittee

FSCUE Admissions Subcommittee FSCUE Curriculum Subcommittee FSCUE Student Life Subcommittee Committee on University Libraries Committee on Women Faculty

Interested faculty members should fill out the online <u>Faculty Senate Faculty Interest</u> <u>Survey</u>, or contact <u>Prof. Susan Tullai-McGuinness</u> or <u>Liz Woyczynski</u>, secretary of the university faculty.

# New Degrees

In Fall 2010, the <u>Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies</u>, chaired by Prof. Gary Wnek (CSE), reviewed several proposals for new graduate degrees that were approved by the Faculty Senate. New degrees require subsequent approval by the Board of Trustees and the Ohio Board of Regents.

- Master in Medical Physiology, presented by Prof. Tom Nosek (SOM)
- Master and Doctor of Philosophy in Systems Biology and Bioinformatics, presented by <u>Prof. Mark Chance</u> (SOM)
- Master in Religious Studies, presented by <u>Prof. Peter Haas</u> (CAS)
- Certificate in Dental Public Health, presented by <u>Prof. Sena Narendran</u> (SODM)

#### **New Departments**

The Faculty Senate voted to approve the merger of the Department of Communication Sciences and the Department of Psychology into a new <u>Department of Psychological</u> <u>Sciences</u>. The faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences voted to approve the merger in April 2010.

The Faculty Senate voted to approve the split of the Department of Theater and Dance to create a separate <u>Department of Dance</u> and <u>Department of Theater</u>. The faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences voted to approve the split in April 2010.

# For Spring 2011

Pilot Program for Faculty Conciliation and Mediation: as presented by Prof. Bill Leatherberry, chair, ad hoc Committee on Grievance Process Reform, and Prof. Emeritus Wally Gingerich, Faculty Conciliation and Mediation Counselor. The Faculty Senate will consider whether or not to continue this pilot program.

**University Budget Committee**: as presented by <u>Prof. J.B. Silvers</u>, Faculty Senate Budget Committee. In response to the recommendations from the Provost's <u>Budget</u> <u>System Review Committee</u>, a pilot project will begin this spring to initiate a University Budget Committee, which will act as an advisory body to the Provost with broad university perspective and an intense involvement in the budgetary process. If faculty are interested in serving, please contact <u>Prof. Alan Levine</u>, chair, Faculty Senate.

Faculty are encouraged to contact <u>Prof. Alan Levine</u>, chair, Faculty Senate, or the faculty concerned, with questions or concerns about these issues.

### Thanks to Our Faculty Chairs

Thanks to the faculty who chaired Faculty Senate standing and ad hoc

#### committees this year:

Faculty Compensation: TBD	
Faculty Personnel: Prof. Jim Kazura (SOM)	
Graduate Studies: Prof. Gary Wnek (CSE)	
Information Resources: Prof. Kalle Lyytinen (WSOM)	
Minority Affairs: <u>Prof. Faye Gary</u> (SON)	
Nominating Committee: Prof. Susan Tullai-McGuinness (SON)	
Research: Prof. Mark Chance (SOM)	
Undergraduate Education: Prof. Jim McGuffin-Cawley (CSE)	
University Libraries: Prof. Mary Quinn Griffin (SON)	
Women Faculty: Prof. Betsy Kaufman (SOM)	
Women Faculty: <u>Prof. Betsy Kaufman</u> (SOM) ad hoc Committee on Grievance Process Reform: <u>Prof. Bill Leatherb</u>	erry (LAW)
University Libraries: <u>Prof. Mary Quinn Griffin</u> (SON) Women Faculty: <u>Prof. Betsy Kaufman</u> (SOM) <i>ad hoc</i> Committee on Grievance Process Reform: <u>Prof. Bill Leatherb</u> <b>Thanks to the other faculty members who served on the</b> <u>Faculty Senate Executive Committee</u> this year: <u>Prof. Jessica Berg</u> (LAW) <u>Prof. Sue Hinze</u> (CAS) Prof. Ken Lonaro (CSE)	erry (LAW)
Women Faculty: <u>Prof. Betsy Kaufman</u> (SOM) ad hoc Committee on Grievance Process Reform: <u>Prof. Bill Leatherb</u> <b>Thanks to the other faculty members who served on the</b> <u>Faculty Senate Executive Committee</u> this year: <u>Prof. Jessica Berg</u> (LAW) <u>Prof. Sue Hinze</u> (CAS) <u>Prof. Ken Loparo</u> (CSE)	e <u>erry</u> (LAW)
Women Faculty: <u>Prof. Betsy Kaufman</u> (SOM) ad hoc Committee on Grievance Process Reform: <u>Prof. Bill Leatherb</u> <b>Thanks to the other faculty members who served on the</b> <u>Faculty Senate Executive Committee</u> this year: <u>Prof. Jessica Berg</u> (LAW) <u>Prof. Sue Hinze</u> (CAS) <u>Prof. Ken Loparo</u> (CSE) <u>Prof. Diana Morris</u> (SON)	e <u>erry</u> (LAW)
Women Faculty: <u>Prof. Betsy Kaufman</u> (SOM) ad hoc Committee on Grievance Process Reform: <u>Prof. Bill Leatherb</u> Thanks to the other faculty members who served on the <u>Faculty Senate Executive Committee</u> this year: <u>Prof. Jessica Berg</u> (LAW)	e <u>erry</u> (LAW)

be sure to add facultysenate@case.edu to your address book to make sure these messages make it to your inbox.