Proposed Revision to Faculty Handbook:

CHAPTER 2, ARTICLE V. THE FACULTY SENATE

Sec. C. Membership

The voting members of the Faculty Senate shall be the president of the University, the provost or a designee of the president, the secretary of the Faculty Senate, elected voting members of the University Faculty apportioned as specified in Article V, Section F, the chair of each standing and *ad hoc* committee of the Faculty Senate, for the duration of such committee chairmanship, one undergraduate student, one student enrolled in the School of Graduate Studies, and one student enrolled in a post-baccalaureate program in any of the professional schools, the three student members to be selected by their respective constituencies. The Chair of the Emeriti Academy Executive Committee shall be a non-voting member of the Faculty Senate and may participate in discussions.

Current provision of the Faculty Senate By-Laws stating that only voting members of the Senate are considered when determining the quorum:

BY-LAW III. MEETINGS

Item 1. Quorum and Adoption of Motions.

At any meeting of the Faculty Senate, fifty percent of the voting membership shall constitute a quorum.

The quorum at regular meetings of the Faculty Senate is determined by a count of the voting members physically in the room. The quorum at Special Meetings of the Faculty Senate is determined by a count of the voting members physically present and voting members attending remotely.

The affirmative vote of the majority of the voting members in attendance shall be required for the adoption of any motion at all Faculty Senate meetings.