Proposed changes to the Faculty Senate Committee on Information & Communication Technology's charge. These changes are relative to the charge approved by the Faculty Senate in Spring 2014, http://www.case.edu/facultysenate/media/caseedu/faculty-senate/documents/approvals-and-endorsements/spring-2014/FSCICTchargetrackedchanges.pdf.

The purpose of the proposed changes is to:

- Alter the definition of the membership of the Committee to reflect the fact that the body previously known as the Council of Technology Officers no longer exists. Thus, there is no longer a chair from that body to serve on FSCICT to serve as a source of interaction between the two bodies.
- II) As part of the changes associated with the centralization of IT across the university, Information Technology Services has changed its name to University Technology. Additional changes to the text are made to accurately reflect the name change.

Item j. Committee on Information & Communication Technology.

- 1) The Committee on Information & Communication Technology shall consist of the Provost or designated deputy, the Vice President for Information Technology Services, and the University Librarian annually. The Chair or the designee of the Committee on University Libraries shall sit ex officio on the Committee on Information & Communication Technology; and the Chair, or the designee of the Committee on Information & Communication Technology shall sit ex officio on the Committee on University Libraries ex officiis and the chair of the Council of Technology Officers shall sit ex officio on the Committee on Information and Communication Technology; nine voting members of the University Faculty elected by the Faculty Senate, no more than two from each constituent faculty; and one undergraduate student elected by the Undergraduate Student Government, one graduate student elected by the Graduate Student Senate, and one postdoctoral scholar/fellow elected by the Post Doctoral Researcher Association. The term of membership for faculty on the Committee on Information & Communication Technology shall be three years; three members shall be elected each year. Each elected faculty member of the Committee shall be eligible for re-election only after the lapse of at least one year following the expiration of two consecutive three-year terms of membership. The term of membership for student and postdoctoral scholar/fellow members shall be one year, beginning immediately upon their election to the Committee at the first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate subsequent to Commencement each year. Student and postdoctoral scholar/fellow members shall be eligible for re-election.
- 2) The Faculty Senate Committee on Information and Communication Technology (FSCICT) shall advise the Vice President for Information Technology Services and the Executive Technology Steering Committee on policies, strategies and practices that promote the effective use and management of information and communication technologies (ICT) to support the University's academic and administrative missions.

The committee shall:

- a) Establish priorities related to ICT policies and strategies on the campus;
- b) Review and provide input annually on the operations and budget of <u>Information University</u> Technology <u>Services</u>;
- c) Advise, consult and help develop guidelines and policies on how to organize and govern information and communication-related services, and how to develop, select and budget for ICT within University Information-Technology Services and other technology organizations within the university.

The Committee shall review the information technology and telecommunications infrastructures for teaching, research, and service; collaboration technologies; and administrative systems, especially those related to the academic advising and research administration.

3) The Committee shall report to the Faculty Senate at least once each year.