John S. Diekhoff Award

Faculty Winners of Diekhoff Award 2019

For Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

The John S. Diekhoff Award is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University. The award was created in honor of John Diekhoff, who served in several capacities during his tenure here. From 1956 to 1970, he served as professor of English, chair of the Department of English, dean of Cleveland College, acting dean of the School of Graduate Studies and vice provost of the university.

In 1978, the university created the award to recognize outstanding contributions to the education of graduate students through advising, mentoring, and classroom teaching. Initially, the award was presented to two full-time faculty members who serve as outstanding mentors to graduate students, connect them with experts in their discipline, engage them academically, and actively promote their professional development. In 2009, the award was expanded to recognize two full-time faculty members who excel in the teaching of graduate students.

The award is sponsored by the School of Graduate Studies. A committee of graduate students reviews the nominations and recommends the winners.

Submit nominations here by February 24 at 5 pm (Eastern Time). Review the criteria for nominating faculty. The committee is currently reviewing nominees and winners will be selected in April!

Congratulations to Our 2020 Winners!


Karen Potter, MFA
Professor and Chair, Department of Dance

James Spilsbury, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences


Eva Kahana, PhD
Distinguished University Professor, Robson Professor of Sociology, Humanities, Applied Social Sciences, Nursing, and Medicine

Anant Madabhushi, PhD
F. Alex Nason Professor II of Biomedical Engineering

See the list of all winners for the John S. Diekhoff Awards.