The School of Graduate Studies congratulates the following 2018 Graduate Awards Ceremony awardees:

### **Marie Haug Student Award**

Sirui Jiang – *Pathology & Medicine* Deborah Maxwell – *Nursing* Brian Polk – *Sociology* 

### **Craig J. Miller Memorial Award**

Maryam Mortazavi – Civil Engineering

### Kenneth M. Haber Award

Jianzhi Huang – Civil Engineering

### **Roy Harley Prize**

Ram Mazumder – Civil Engineering

### **Adel Heinrich Award**

Daniel Batchelder – Musicology

### Arthur Adrian and Roger B. Salomon Dissertation Fellowship

Philip Derbesy – English Daniel Luttrull – English Melissa Pompili – English

### **Timothy Calhoun Memorial Prize for Poetry**

Daniel Luttrull – English

### **Neil MacIntyre Prize**

Melissa Pompili – English

### 2017 Graduate Research Award

Michael C. Johnston – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Xinyou Ke – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Nicholas S. Szczecinski – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Peng Wang – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Mousa Younesi – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Jingyi Zhang – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

### Jane and Cecil Lyman Prize

Michael Metsner – History

Marion Siney Prize

Meghan Schill – History

### **Ubbelholde Prize**

Corey Hazlett – *History* Naomi Rendina – *History* 

# Melvin Kranzberg Prize

Halle Bauer – *History* 

Frank R. Brochert, Jr. Prize Nathan Delaney – *History* 

## Edna Rafael Award

Carrie Langguth – *Contemporary Dance* Karen Opper – *Contemporary Dance* 

**Cleveland Arts Prize: Kathryn Karipides Scholarship in Modern Dance** Yizhen Hu – *Contemporary Dance* 

## Herbert S. Steuer Award

Samuel Guyer – *Applied Anatomy* Mackenzie Reece – *Applied Anatomy* 

## Denny Drotar Pediatric Psychology Award

Marco-Antonio Hartmann – *Psychological Sciences* Hannah McKillop – *Psychological Sciences* 

# T.J. McCallum Award

Sarah Danzo – *Psychological Sciences* 

# Diversity, Culture & Community Award

Jennifer Birnkrant – Psychological Sciences

# Ethan Schafer Assessment Award

Laura Hlavaty – *Psychological Sciences* 

# Jane Kessler Award

Laura Hlavaty – Psychological Sciences

# Sarah Cain Spannagel Graduate Student Award

Olena Zyga – Psychological Sciences

# Masters Research Excellence Award

Jessica Kusina – Psychological Sciences

### **Morris Parloff Award**

Alison Athey – Psychological Sciences

# **Don Wolfe Scholarship**

Kevin Cavanagh - Organizational Behavior

Sherman Grinnell Award Morgan Bulger – Organizational Behavior

**Dumitru and Gheorghe D. Mateescu Graduate Student Citizenship Award** Monica Navarreto-Lugo – *Chemistry* 

Charles F. Mabery Award Christopher Morgan – Chemistry

**Outstanding Master Thesis** Cyprian Illing – *Materials Science and Engineering* 

Hazel Gibbs Herbuck Prize Dunya Abrahim – Art Education

**Doris Young Hartsock Prize** Dunya Abrahim – Art Education

# Arol Shack Dissertation Award

Kristen Berg – *Social Welfare* Meredith Francis – *Social Welfare* 

Student of the Year in Population and Quantitative Health Sciences Nikolas Krieger – Epidemiology & Biostatistics

### Eva L. Pancoast Memorial Fellowship

Aimee Caya – Art History Kasey Connolly – Theater Arts Kylie Fisher – Art History Dana Goldberg – Nutrition Wenxuan Huang – Sociology Karen Opper – Contemporary Dance Adrianna Smell – Sociology Courtney Stennett – Theater Arts Elisabeth Yancey – Theater Arts

### Lenore A. Kola Graduate Student Community Service Award

Rita Tohme – *Molecular Medicine* 

**Richard A. Zdanis Research Fellowship Award** 

Casey Albitz - Sociology

### **Ruth Barber Moon Award**

Heather Baily – Anthropology Ilana Siegal – Bioethics Madison Teuscher – Music Education Dalhee Yoon – Social Welfare

### **Graduate Student Appreciation Award**

Rosemary Behmer – *Bioethics & Public Health* Anne Bryden – *Sociology* Julia Blanchette – *Nursing* Savannah Mills – *Biochemistry* Colette Ngana – *Sociology* Zhe Ren – *Materials Science & Engineering* Ilana Siegal – *Bioethics* 

### Graduate Dean's Instructional Excellence Award

Alexa Amore – Art History Kevin Cavanagh – Organizational Behavior Kaitlin Doyle – Musicology Peter Graff – Musicology Megan Griffin – English Jennifer Murphy – Biology Benjamin Palmer – Material Science & Engineering

### Medicine, Society and Culture Travel Grant

Evan Chaloupka – English Lutong Li – Nonprofit Organization & Social Administration Cynthia Rentrope – Social Administration & Public Health Jiao Yu – Sociology

### Medical Humanities and Social Medicine Research Grant

Tyrone Hamler – Social Welfare Kristi Ninnemann – Anthropology Katie Schroeder – History Raghav Tripathi – Public Health & Medicine

### Lester O. Krampitz Prize

Laura Rojas Coy – Molecular Biology & Microbiology

### Arthur F.W. Hughes Award

Daniel Factor – Genetics & Genome Sciences

#### **Doctoral Excellence Award in Biochemistry**

Liang Zhu – *Biochemistry* 

# **Doctoral Excellence Award in Bioethics**

John Frye – *Bioethics* 

# **Doctoral Excellence Award in Biomedical Engineering**

Christopher Hernandez – *Biomedical Engineering* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Epidemiology & Biostatistics** Quinn Ostrom – *Epidemiology & Biostatistics* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Genetics & Genome Sciences** Sneha Grandhi – *Genetics & Genome Sciences* Zachary Nevin – *Genetics & Genome Sciences* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Molecular Medicine** Anthony Gromovsky – *Molecular Medicine* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Neurosciences** Jared Cregg – *Neurosciences* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Nutrition** Kirkland Wilson – *Nutrition* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Pathology** Lamis Yehia – *Pathology* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Pharmacology** Jennifer Sahni – *Pharmacology* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Physiology & Biophysics** Pamela Marcott – *Physiology & Biophysics* 

**Doctoral Excellence Award in Systems Biology & Bioinformatics** Peter Liao – Systems Biology & Bioinformatics

#### Graduate Student Research Award (Research ShowCASE)

Rosemary Behmer – Bioethics & Public Health
Samuel Crisanti – Mechanical Engineering

(Lubrizol Award Winner)

Jarred Glickstein – Electrical Engineering
William Huddleston – Materials Science & Engineering

(Siemens Award Winner)

Taylor Jay – Neurosciences

(Cleveland Clinic: Learner Research Institute Award Winner)

Benjamin Palmer – Materials Science & Engineering

(Accenture Award Winner)

Nitish Rana – Physiology & Biophysics

(University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center Award Winner)

### Graduate Student Honorable Mention (Research ShowCASE)

Leah Beekman – Communication Sciences Kristen Gelenitis – Biomedical Engineering Qianwen Huang – Chemical Engineering Sophie Jané – Organizational Behavior Kenneth Moses – Mechanical Engineering Aviva Vincent – Social Welfare Alexandra Yarger – Biology

### Postdoctoral Research Award (Research ShowCASE)

Benjamin Bryson – *Pathology* Kristine-Ann Buela – *Pathology* Hamid Charkhkar – *Biomedical Engineering* Nicholas Kathman – *Biology* Brooke Odle – *Engineering* 

### Postdoctoral Research Honorable Mention (Research ShowCASE)

Frederick Allen – Pediatrics

### John S. Diekhoff Award in Teaching

Christopher J. Burant, Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing Thomas E. Love, Ph.D. – Professor of Medicine, Population & Quantitative Health Sciences

### John S. Diekhoff Award in Mentoring

Eileen P. Anderson-Fye, Ed.D. – Associate Professor of Bioethics Paul Tesar, Ph.D. – Associate Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences, Dr. Donald & Ruth Weber Goodman Professor of Innovative Therapeutics