The School of Graduate Studies

congratulates the following 2021 Graduate Awards Ceremony awardees



College of Arts and Sciences

Friends of Art Best Paper by an MA Student

Mackenzie Clark - Art History and Art

Friends of Art Best Paper by a PhD Student

Reed O'Mara - Art History and Art

Best Overall Performance by a PhD Student in Art History and Art

Bing Wang - Art History and Art

Charles F Mabery Award for Best Thesis in Chemistry

Jonathan Strobl - *Chemistry*

Dumitru and Gheorghe D. Mateescu Graduate Student Citizenship Award

Zakary Ekstrom - *Chemistry*Sarah Krul - *Chemistry*Guobi Li - *Chemistry*Tadeas Liska - *Chemistry*

Graduate Teaching Award

Garrett Grimm - *Chemistry* Evan Van Orman - *Chemistry*

Naomi Wolin Award for Excellence in New Collaborations or New Directions in Dance

Christian Mintah - *Dance* Katie Nabors - *Dance*

Cleveland Arts Prize: Kathryn Karipides Scholarship in Modern Dance

Haiyan Chen - Dance

Arthur Adrian and Roger B. Salomon Dissertation Fellowship

Camila Ring - *English* Hayley Verdi - *English*



Neil MacIntyre Memorial Prize

Andrew Petracca - English

Timothy Calhoun Memorial Prize for Poetry

Brita Thielen – *English* (First Place) Charlie Ericson – *English* (Second Place)

Adel Heinrich Award

Sarah Coffman - Music

Diversity; Culture; and Community Award

Elisa Borrero - Psychological Sciences

Donald K. Freedheim Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Clinical Service

Chelsea Day - *Psychological Sciences* Alexandra Piedra - Psychological Sciences

Ethan Schafer Assessment Award

Silvia Hernandez - Psychological Sciences Alexandra Smith - Psychological Sciences

Jane Kessler Award for Outstanding Clinical Teaching (4th year)

Kathy Benhamou - Psychological Sciences Samuel Seidman - Psychological Sciences

Joseph F. Fagan III Award for Research Excellence

Amanda Merner - Psychological Sciences

Kim Diemert Award

Nina Pukys - Psychological Sciences

Masters Research Excellence

Alexandra Piedra - Psychological Sciences

Morris Parloff Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Clinical Research

Eleanor Beale - *Psychological Sciences*

Sarah Cain Spannagel Graduate Student Award for Meritorious Service to the Clinical **Program; Field or Community**

Kelsey Magee - Psychological Sciences

T.J. McCallum Award for Community-Based Scholarship

Hope Vaccaro - Psychological Sciences

School of Engineering

Excellence in Departmental/External Service

Sydney Song - *Biomedical Engineering* Victoria Laney - *Biomedical Engineering*

Excellence in Graduate Teaching Assistantship

Prathyush Chirra - *Biomedical Engineering* Amogh Hiremath - *Biomedical Engineering*

Excellence in Mentorship

Yijiang Chen - *Biomedical Engineering* Prathyush Chirra - *Biomedical Engineering*

Outstanding Creativity in Graduate Experiential Instruction

George Hoeferlin - *Biomedical Engineering* Olivia Krebs - *Biomedical Engineering* Yue Xu - *Biomedical Engineering*

Outstanding Graduate Career Award

Jacob Antunes - *Biomedical Engineering*Ujjal Didar Singh Sekhon - *Biomedical Engineering*

Outstanding Master's Work

Ryan-David Reyes - Biomedical Engineering

Outstanding Publication Award

Pranjal Vaidya - Biomedical Engineering

Civil Engineering Student Leadership Award

Xudong Fan - Civil and Environmental Engineering Xijin Zhang - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Craig J. Miller Memorial Award

Xudong Fan - Civil and Environmental Engineering Shifa Zhong - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Kenneth M. Haber Award

Zhuoying Jiang - Civil and Environmental Engineering Mohammod Minhajur Rahman - Civil and Environmental Engineering Xijin Zhang - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Roy Harley Prize

Yihan Duan - Civil and Environmental Engineering Kuan Huang - Civil and Environmental Engineering



Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Graduate Research Award in memory of Xiaoyang Zhao

Clarissa Goldsmith - Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Yanjun Li - Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Yuncheng Man - Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Yue Qiu - Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Graduate Student Teaching Award

Clayton Cooper - *Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering*Pushkal Kannan - *Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering*Chinmay Shingote - *Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering*

Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

Arol Shack Award

Weidi Qin - Social Welfare

Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

Benita Martocchio Award for Excellence in Oncology Nursing

Tongyao Wang - Nursing

Dean's Legacy Award

Mary Ann Lawlor - Nursing

Marie Haug Award

Chengming Han - Sociology
Devon Jones – Social Work and Nonprofit Organizations

School of Medicine

Herbert S. Steuer Award for Excellence in Anatomy

Kate Bodnar - *Anatomy* Amber Jin - *Anatomy*

Charlotte Smith Award

Marc Kusaka - Public Health Nutrition

2

ROOM TO THE REPORT OF THE PARTY OF THE PARTY

Academic Excellence for the Master's Degree

Joe Magoline - Biomedical and Health Informatics Lindsay Petrenchik - Epidemiology & Biostatistics Lexi Hubbel - Genetics and Genome Sciences

Outstanding Student Educator Award

Carolyn Rutishauser - *Anatomy*

Arthur F.W. Hughes Award

Chen Weng - Genetics and Genome Sciences

Lester O. Krampitz Award for Best Predoctoral Research

Angelica Cruz Lebron - *Molecular Biology and Microbiology*

Doctoral Excellence

Tian He - Biochemistry
Niha Beig - Biomedical Engineering
Caroline El Sanadi - Clinical Translational Science
Zita Hubler - Genetics and Genome Sciences
Courtney Hershberger - Molecular Medicine
Zhaoqi Dong - Neurosciences
Daniel Leonard - Pathology
Xu Han - Pharmacology
Yuan Cai - Physiology and Biophysics

School of Graduate Studies

Graduate Student Appreciation Award

Rong Bai - Social Welfare
Adrienne Bedell - Music
Victoria Laney - Biomedical Engineering
Colette Ngana - Bioethics
Guillermo Pereda - Anatomy
Katrina Piemonte - Pharmacology
Brita Thielen - English
Katie Troike - Molecular Medicine

Graduate Dean's Instructional Excellence Award

Kathleen DiDomenico - Art History and Art David Dimitrie - Biology Department Aziz Radwan - Electrical, Computer and Systems Engineering Michael Slone - Sociology Hayley Verdi - English





Lenore A Kola Graduate Student Community Service Award

Carolyn Rutishauser - *Anatomy*

Kristina Collins - *Electrical Engineering* Daniel Hamilton - *Anthropology* Erica Johnson - Organizational Behavior Aaron McPeck - Music

Richard A. Zdanis Research Fellowship Award

Nathan Dougherty - Music

John S. Diekhoff Award to Faculty

John S. Diekhoff Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Philip Cola, PhD - Associate Professor, Department of Design and Innovation Andrew Crofton, PhD - Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy

John S. Diekhoff Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring

Jessica Fox, PhD - Associate Professor, Department of Biology Daniel Goldmark, PhD - Professor, Department of Music



Congratulations to all of our Award Winners!

