Cleveland Institute of Music Program

Sculpture of Mozart


This course will feature the upcoming performance of Mozart’s The Magic Flute opening Wednesday, February 26 at the Cleveland Institute of Music. The pre-performance reception will begin at 6:30 p.m. followed by the concert at 7 p.m.


Register for the Full Series
Member of Lifelong Learning cost: $55 | Nonmember cost: $78

Per session cost without performance. Click on the individual dates below.
Member of Lifelong Learning cost: $10 | Nonmember cost: $15

Pre-Performance Reception and Concert
Member of Lifelong Learning cost: $25 | Nonmember cost: $30

Click here to register for the full series, or click below to register for individual sessions.


The course will be comprised of 4 parts:


Thursday, January 30 | 7 p.m.
François Germain, Vocal Coach
An overview of Mozart, his operas, and The Magic Flute: How the genius of Mozart is portrayed through this legendary musical work.


Friday, February 7 | 2:30 p.m.
Dean Southern, Artistic Director of CIM Opera Theater
Staging the opera: How a director makes artistic decisions, including observations of a staging rehearsal.


Thursday, February 13 | 7 p.m.
Mary Schiller, Head of CIM Voice Department
Conversations with CIM students and faculty: How the students learn the roles, with demonstrations by student performers.


Friday, February 21 | 3:30 p.m.
Harry Davidson, conductor
The Sitzprobe: How the musical director, singers, and the orchestra musicians work together to interpret the music.


Cleveland Institute of Music – Kulas Hall