Contact Us

CTSC Program Contact Info

Address:

Case Western Reserve University
Clinical and Translational Science Collaborative
School of Medicine, BRB 109
10900 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44106-4961
216.368.7551 | Fax 216.368.0972
ctsc-administrator@case.edu

Administration

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Michael Konstan, MD Principal Investigator CWRU michael.konstan@case.edu 216.368.3731
Meg Guncik Manager of Administrative Operations and Assistant to Dr. Konstan CWRU meg.guncik@case.edu 216.368.3731
Ginny Petrie Executive Director CWRU ginny.petrie@case.edu 216.368.5666
Shannon Swiatkowski Research Operations Manager CWRU shannon.swiatkowski@case.edu 216.368.7551
Zina Hempstead Manager of Finance CWRU zina.hempstead@case.edu 216.368.2567

Trial Innovation Network Hub Liaison Team

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Kristie Ross, MD Co-Medical Director University Hospitals kristie.ross@uhhospitals.org  
Lara Jehi, MD Co-Medical Director Cleveland Clinic jehil@ccf.org  
Noreen Roman, MT(ASCP), MBA Project Coordinator MetroHealth nroman@metrohealth.org 216.778.3130

Clinical Study Resources

Clinical Study Resources Team

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research Cleveland Clinic bhasinc@ccf.org 216.444.5113
K. Megan O'Neill Miller, MBA Administrative Manager University Hospitals Megan.Miller3@uhhospitals.org 216.844.4720
Noreen Roman, MT(ASCP), MBA Administrative Manager MetroHealth nroman@metrohealth.org 216.778.3130

ResearchMatch

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Rebecca Weintraub Coordinator, Research Compliance, Education, & Outreach University Hospitals rebecca.weintraub@uhhospitals.org 216.286.7069

Regulatory & Compliance

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Philip Cola, PhD Associate Director, Academic Affairs CWRU philip.cola@case.edu 216.368.6932
Suzanne Rivera, PhD Vice President Research CWRU suzanne.rivera@case.edu  
Ellen Divoky Director of Regulatory, Compliance and Contracting CWRU ellen.divoky@case.edu 216.368.5976
Carey Gorden, JD, MA Manager, Human Research Protection Program MetroHealth cgorden@metrohealth.org 216.778.2021
Joan Booth Director, Research Operations Cleveland Clinic boothj@ccf.org  
Kim Volarcik Executive Director, Research Compliance CWRU kimberly.volarcik@case.edu 216.368.0134
Patrick Mahoney Clinical Research Regulatory & FDA Support Specialist University Hospitals Patrick.Mahoney@UHhospitals.org 216.844.0383

SMART IRB

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carey Gorden, JD, MA Manager, Human Research Protection Program MetroHealth cgorden@metrohealth.org 216.778.2021

Education and Training

Research Education

Data Management

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carolyn Apperson-Hansen, MSTAT Research Concierge CWRU carolyn.apperson-hansen@case.edu 216.368.0035

KL2 Training Program

For general information about the program, please contact:

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Beth Spyke, MPA KL2 Research Education & Training Program Manager Cleveland Clinic spykeb@ccf.org 216.444.2702

Key Staff Members

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Raed Dweik, MD Program Director Cleveland Clinic dweikr@ccf.org 216.445.5763
Alfred Connors, MD Sr. Vice President and Chief Quality Officer MetroHealth aconnors@metrohealth.org 216.778.8266
Neal Dawson, MD Professor of Medicine MetroHealth neal6084@cox.net 216.778.3901
Shirley Moore, RN, PhD Professor of Nursing and Associate Dean for Research CWRU shirley.moore@case.edu 216.368.5978
James Spilsbury, PhD Director, Center for Clinical Investigation Academic Core CWRU james.spilsbury@case.edu 216.368.7559
Mike Kattan, PhD Chairman, Department of Quantitative Health Sciences Cleveland Clinic kattanm@ccf.org 216.444.0584
Clara Pelfrey, PhD Director, Program Evaluation CWRU clara.pelfrey@case.edu 216.368.6478

TL1 Training Program

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Clifford Harding, MD Program Director CWRU clifford.harding@case.edu 216.368.3611
Kathy Schultz Administrative Director CWRU kathryn.schultz@case.edu 216.368.8739
Crista Moeller Program and Recruiting Coordinator CWRU crista.moeller@case.edu 216.368.3404

Pilot Programs

Pilot Coordinator and InfoReady Support

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Billie Kyriakides Assistant Director CWRU billie.kyriakides@case.edu 216.368.0840

Research Resources

Research Concierge Service

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carolyn Apperson-Hansen, MSTAT Research Concierge CWRU carolyn.apperson-hansen@case.edu 216.368.0035

Research Methods & Study Design

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Gerald Beck, PhD Director Cleveland Clinic backg@ccf.org 216.444.9927
Douglas Gunzler, PhD, MA Co-Director MetroHealth dgunzler@metrohealth.org 216.778.2764
Curtis Tatsuoka, PhD Co-Director CWRU curtis.tatsuoka@case.edu 216.368.6724

Program Evaluation

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Clara Pelfrey, PhD Director, Program Evaluation CWRU clara.pelfrey@case.edu 216.368.6478

Spanish Translation Services

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Anna Thornton Matos, MPH Project Director CWRU abt11@case.edu 216.368.5776

Entrepreneurship

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Mark Chance, PhD Vice Dean for Research CWRU mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.0291
Ofer Reizes, PhD NCAI Director for Skills Development Cleveland Clinic reizeso@ccf.org 216.444.8323

Informatics

REDCap

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Sheree Hemphill Research Recruitment Informaticist CWRU sheree.hemphill@case.edu 216.844.1546
Charles Trunick Research Recruitment Informaticist Cleveland Clinic trunicc@cff.org 216.445.6933
Kimberly Schach Research Recruitment Informaticist MetroHealth kschach@metrohealth.org 216.778.7992

CLEARPATH & SHED

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478
Jill Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD Co-Director CWRU jill.barnholtz-sloan@case.edu 216.368.1506

Explorys

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Timothy Crone, MD, FACP, SFHM Medical Director, Enterprise Business Intelligence & Enterprise Information Management & Analytics Medical Operations Cleveland Clinic cronet@ccf.org 216.636.7533
Charles Trunick Research/Recruitment Informaticist Cleveland Clinic trunicc@ccf.org 216.445.6933
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research Cleveland Clinic bhasinc@ccf.org 216.444.5113
David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Vice-President of Health Informatics MetroHealth dkaelber@metrohealth.org 216.778.2637
Todd Sarbach Research/Recruitment Informaticist MetroHealth csarbach@metrohealth.org 216.778.3330
Donna Gattis Sr. Clinical Applications Analyst, Research IT University Hospitals donna.gattis@uhhospitals.org 615.969.2265

Institute for Computational Biology

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478

Digital Medicine

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Amy Sheon, PhD, MPH Executive Director, Urban Health Initiative CWRU amy.sheon@case.edu 216.368.0915

TriNetX

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Ginny Petrie TriNetX Liaison CWRU ginny.petrie@case.edu 216.368.5666

Secure Research Environment

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478
Amy Merlino, MD Enterprise Chief Medical Information Officer Cleveland Clinic merlina@ccf.org  
David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Vice-President of Health Informatics MetroHealth dkaelber@metrohealth.org 216.778.2637

Health Data Matters

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Amy Sheon, PhD, MPH Executive Director, Urban Health Initiative CWRU amy.sheon@case.edu 216.368.0915

Community Engagement

Prevention Research Center for Health Neighborhoods (PRCHN)

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Elaine Borawski, PhD Director and Principal Investigator CWRU elaine.borawski@case.edu 216.368.1024
Sue Flocke, PhD Associate Director CWRU susan.flocke@case.edu 216.368.3887
Erika S. Trapl, PhD Associate Director CWRU erika.trapl@case.edu 216.368.0098
Darcy Freedman, MPH, PhD Associate Director CWRU darcy.freedman@case.edu 216.368.3060

Hub Research Capacity

Name Title Institution Email Phone
W.H. Wilson Tang, MD Director, Hub Research Capacity Cleveland Clinic tangw@ccf.org 216.444.2121
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research Cleveland Clinic bhasin@ccf.org 216.444.5113
Nora Singer, MD Site Director, Hub Research Capacity MetroHealth nsinger@metrohealth.org 216.778.2323
Grace McComsey, MD, FIDSA Site Director, Hub Research Capacity University Hospitals grace.mccomsey@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3607
Katherine Dell, MD Director, Clinical and Translational Research, Pediatric Institute Cleveland Clinic dellk@ccf.org 216.444.6123

Industry Collaboration

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Mark Chance, PhD Vice Dean for Research CWRU mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.0291
Anne DeChant, MS, MBA Executive Director, Office of Translation and Innovation CWRU anne.dechant@case.edu 216.368.8867

Urban Health Initiative

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Amy Sheon, PhD, MPH Executive Director, Urban Health Initiative CWRU amy.sheon@case.edu 216.368.0915

Child Health

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Kristie Ross, MD Clinical Director of the Division of Pulmonology, Allergy, Immunology and Sleep Medicine University Hospitals kristie.ross@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3267

First Year Cleveland

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Bernadette Kerrigan, MSSA, LISW, SPHR Executive Director CWRU bernadette.kerrigan@case.edu 216.368.6870
Christine Neumann Sr. Director of Community Impact, Continuous Improvement, Evaluation CWRU christine.neumann@case.edu 216.368.4837
Katrice Cain, MA Racial Disparities Program Director CWRU katrice.cain@case.edu