5.10: The Committee on Appointments Promotions and Tenure

a. The Committee on Appointments, Promotions and Tenure shall be a standing committee of the faculty and shall consist of twenty-four full-time faculty members. Eighteen members shall be elected by the full-time faculty and six members shall be appointed by the dean. A representative Dean from faculty affairs shall also be a member of this committee, ex officio and without vote. Department chairs are not eligible to serve on this committee. Ten of the committee members shall have the rank of tenured professor; ten shall be professors in the non-tenure track; and four shall be tenured associate professors. The elected committee members shall include nine faculty members with primary appointment in clinical science departments and nine with primary appointment in basic science departments; the appointed members shall include four from clinical science departments and two from basic science departments. In each election all reasonable effort will be taken to have the number of nominees be at least twice the number of positions to be filled. Members will be elected or appointed for three-year terms. These terms shall be staggered for the full-time faculty members. Committee members may serve only two consecutive three-year terms but subsequently may be reelected or reappointed after an absence of one year. The guorum for conducting the business of the Committee on Appointments, Promotion and Tenure shall be twelve members present for discussion of which eight must have voting privileges. On recommendations for appointment as or promotion to associate professor, all committee members are eligible to vote; on recommendations for appointment as or promotion to professor, faculty committee members who are tenured professors and non-tenure track professors are eligible to vote; on recommendations to award tenure, tenured committee members are eligible to vote. Committee members may be present for discussion but are not eligible to vote regarding candidates for primary appointment, promotion, or award of tenure in the committee member's own department of primary appointment. The committee will be led by two co-chairs, each of whom shall serve a one-year term, appointed by the chair of Faculty Council in consultation with the dean of the School of Medicine. The co-chairs may be selected from either the elected or appointed members of the committee. The chair of Faculty Council, in consultation with the dean of the School of Medicine, each year shall also appoint two co-chairs elect, to serve the following year as the committee's co-chairs. At each committee meeting, at least one of the co-chairs must be in attendance.

b. The standards for appointment, promotion, and granting of tenure determined by the faculty shall be considered by the committee when evaluating candidates under review.

c. The CAPT shall review and make recommendations concerning all appointments, as or promotions to the ranks of, associate professor or professor and the award of tenure.

Approved by University Faculty Senate on December 15, 2021 Updated January 27, 2025