Members of the Biomedical Research Committee

Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine 2025 - 2026

NAME	TITLE / ROLE	ELECTED / APPOINTED	TERM EXPIRATION
Susann Brady-Kalnay, PhD	Chair, CBR / Chair, Research Portfolio	Appointed by Dean	2027
Robert Bonomo, MD	Vice-Chair, CBR	Elected	2028
Sudha Chakrapani, PhD	Chair, Enabling Technologies	Appointed by Dean	2028
Derek Taylor, PhD	Chair, Research Infrastructure	Appointed by Dean	2026
Stathis Karathanasis, PhD	Chair, Biomedical Workforce	Appointed by Dean	2026
Boaz Tirosh, PhD	Member	Appointed by Dean	2027
Xin Qi, PhD	Member	Appointed by Dean	2028
Emily Hamburg-Shields, MD, PhD	Member	Elected	2028
James Kazura, MD	Member	Elected	2028
Mark Cameron, PhD	Representative from SOM	Elected	2029
Changchun Deng, MD, PhD	Representative from UH	Elected	2029
Genevieve Crane, MD, PhD	Represenative from CCLCM	Elected	2029
Kenneth Laurita, PhD	Represenative from MHS	Elected	2027
Evi Stavrou, MD	Representative from VA	Elected	2029
Ex Officio non-voting			
Stanton Gerson, MD	Dean, School of Medicine		
William Schiemann, PhD	Vice Dean for Research		

Updated: 7/1/2025

Membership Terms: The CBR will be chaired by a faculty member appointed jointly by the Dean and the Chair of Faculty Council, preferably a department chair or center director. A vice-chair will be elected by the faculty. Additional voting members of the CBR will include four faculty members appointed by the Dean, four elected faculty members from SOM Basic Science Departments; and one elected faculty member from each of the four affiliated hospitals. The total number of members on the CBR will be 14 (9 elected and 5 appointed). The Dean and Vice-Dean for Research will be ex officio non-voting members of the CBR. Term of Service for members of the CBR will be 4 years. Members shall serve for a period of four years. Representatives may serve two consecutive terms (for a total of 8 years) and may be eligible to serve again after an absence of one year.