Alumni Award Winners 2014

Inaugural Frances Payne Bolton Legacy Award

The Frances Payne Bolton Legacy Award, given at a the discretion of the dean of FPB School of Nursing, honors individuals and organizations for their contributions to the school, the profession of nursing and the community at large in the spirit of Frances Payne Bolton; health care advocate, philanthropist, Congresswoman and namesake of the School of Nursing.

Charlene Phelps (MSN’65)

Throughout her life, Frances Payne Bolton was a tireless advocate for nursing. Her public and private personas were dedicated not just to advancing the profession of nursing but to improving the health and wellness of all. Charlene Phelps is a lifelong health care leader in this model.

In her career spanning more than 30 years at University Hospitals Case Medical Center (UH), Phelps started as an assistant director of medical surgical nursing in FPB Dean Rozella Schlotfedt’s “Experiment in Nursing.” It culminated in her retirement as a Senior Vice President in 2003. Along the way she developed new practice methods, such as bedside charting, served as personal confidant to the school’s deans for decades, and became top cheerleader as chair of both FPB’s visiting and campaign committees and for healthcare across the nation.

Her latest innovation has been to bring back some of the best components of Schlotfedt’s “Experiment in Nursing” through a professorship jointly held by Case Western Reserve University and UH. This is the first joint nursing professorship between these two entities. Phelps also continues to nurture the next generation of nurse leaders through her mentorship as well as scholarship support.

Daniel T. Clancy Service Award

Presented during the Homecoming Luncheon, the Daniel T. Clancy Service award recognizes outstanding alumni who have been active in alumni affairs for at least 15 years and have made significant contributions to The Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve University and its programs.

Laura J. Nosek (BSN’61, MSN’81, PhD’86)

Laura Nosek, PhD, RN has been a non-stop presence in the school’s and the university’s alumni programs, services, and philanthropies for more than 50 years.

Her commitment began as an undergraduate student when she participated in the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing Annual Fund telethons. As an alumna, she continued her tireless efforts on behalf of the school eventually serving as the FPB Annual Fund chairperson and president of its Alumni Association.

She also generously offered her time and expertise to the university’s alumni efforts, rising through its volunteer leadership. She eventually became president of the CWRU Undergraduate Alumni Association (UAA). In that role, she played an integral role in laying in the groundwork for the creation of The Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve University.

Her loyalty and enthusiasm for the Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve University and its work has continued through her eight years as a member of its Board of Directors.

Sustained, consistent, and significant contributions of her time, effort, talent, and treasure have been hallmarks of Dr. Nosek’s exemplary contribution to the alumni of Case Western Reserve University.

Award for Excellence 2014

The Award for Excellence recognizes an alumna/us who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and achievement in nursing, and has made significant contributions in nursing or related areas of healthcare.

Joshua K. Muliira (MA ‘03, MSN ‘06, DNP ’08)

Joshua Muliira was born and raised in the small town of Mukono, Uganda. He received all of his graduate education (MA, bioethics, MSN, and DNP) from Case Western Reserve University. The opportunity to study at CWRU and FPB made him the first nurse in Uganda to receive a formal graduate degree in bioethics and to get a DNP qualification.

Muliira’s program of research focuses on health promotion in the older adult population, especially with caregiving and the well-being of older adults, and preventive care practices of those at risk of diseases such as HIV/AIDS and cancer.

Muliira’s efforts led to the establishment of the first graduate clinical nursing program in 2010 in Uganda at Makerere University’s Department of Nursing (Masters of Science in Nursing-Midwifery and Women’s Health). He also helped establish the Nursing Education and Clinical Simulation Unit at the College of Nursing at Sultan Qaboos University in 2013. The unit has enhanced clinical training of undergraduate nursing students and continuing professional development of faculty. As interim dean of the College of Nursing at Sultan Qaboos University, Muliira is leading the preparation for program accreditation.

Young Alumni Award for Excellence

The Young Alumni Award for Excellence recognizes an alumna/us who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and achievement in nursing and has made significant contributions in nursing or related areas of healthcare within 10 years or less of graduation from Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing and the accomplishments are rooted in their education from the School of Nursing.

Freida Chavez (DNP ’13)

Freida Chavez has been a nursing and health care leader in policy and planning, acute care, community, and home health where she developed and implemented innovative programs. At the Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, Chavez continues her leadership role in international collaborations and global health education. She has published and presented on global health curriculum and the pedagogy for preparing students for international experience, as well as the topic of nurses as global citizens.

Forging strategic global collaborations, Chavez has successfully led several of the University of Toronto nursing’s global projects, including the Brazilian and Canadian partnership, which bridges education, policy and service. She leads collaborative work with the Brazilian government, health secretariats, federal universities, nurses and interprofessional health workers. She also oversees many of U of T Nursing’s current and emerging global projects, and leads global delegations, as well as visiting scholar and visiting student programs.

The growing interest in her work on primary health care led to the work with WHO in a recent WHO publication: Interprofessional Collaborative Practice in Primary Health Care: Nursing and Midwifery Perspectives, Six Case Studies.