Faculty

Faculty Associates

FGSA: Fellow, Gerontological Society of America 

FAGHE: Fellow, Association of Gerontology in Higher Education

Hope Barkoukis, PhD, RDN, LD
Interim Chair, Associate Professor, Department of Nutrition
CWRU, School of Medicine
216.368.2440
hope.barkoukis@case.edu

Christopher J. Burant, PhD, MATCM, FGSA
Assistant Professor, Statistics
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
216.368.0730
Chris.burant@case.edu

Dale Dannefer, PhD, FGSA
Selah Chamberlain Professor and Chair
Department of Sociology
CWRU
216.368.2703
dale.dannefer@case.edu

Peter A. DeGolia, MD, CMD 
Professor, Family Medicine & Community Health
CWRU School of Medicine
Medical Director, McGregor PACE
216.844.6338
peter.degolia@UHhospitals.org

Gary T. Deimling, PhD, FGSA
Profesoor, Department of Sociology
Department of Sociology,  CWRU
216.368.5173
gary.deimling@case.edu

Mary A. Dolansky, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor; Director, QSEN Institute, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing 
Director of Interprofessional Integration and Education Center of Excellence in Primary Care, VA Quality
Scholars Program (VAQS) Senior Nurse Fellow Louis Stokes Cleveland VA
216.368.0568
mad14@case.edu

Evelyn Duffy, DNP, GNP/ANP-BC, FAANP
Associate Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Associate Director, Center on Aging and Health
Director of the Gerontological Nurse Practitioner Program
216.368.5485
evelyn.duffy@case.edu

Grover "Cleve" Gilmore, PhD, FGSA
Dean, Jack, Joseph & Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences
Professor of Psychology & Social Work, CWRU
msassdean@case.edu

Ronald L. Hickman, Jr., PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, FAAN
Associate Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, CWRU
216-368-2147
rlh2@case.edu

Patricia Higgins, PhD, RN, FGSA
Associate Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, CWRU
Researcher, VISN 10 Geriatric Research Education & Clinical Center (GRECC): Cleveland Veterans Affairs
Medical Center
216-368-8850
pxg3@case.edu

Merle "Terry" Hokenstad, PhD
Distinguished University Professor
Emerita Professor, Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences, CWRU
Mch2@case.edu

Evanne Juratovac, PhD, RN, GCNS-BC
Assistant Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
School of Medicine, CWRU
216-368-6688
exj11@case.edu

Eva Kahana, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE
Distinguished University Professor
Robson Professor of Sociology, Humanities, 
Applied Social Science, Nursing and Medicine 
Director, Elderly Care Research Center
CWRU
216.368.2704
eva.kahana@case.edu 

Denise M. Kresevic, PhD, RN, APN-BC, FGSA, FAAN
Geriatric Research Education Clinical Center (GRECC)
Associate Director of Education/Evaluation
Louis Stokes VA Medical Center
Clinical Nurse Specialist-Geriatrics UH
10701 East Blvd.
Cleveland, Ohio 44106
216.844.1000
Denise.Kresevic@va.gov

Hyoung-gon Lee, PhD
Adjunct Professor, Department of Pathology, General Medicine, Neurology
CWRU
216.368.6708 
hxl54@case.edu

Elizabeth Madigan, PhD, RN, FAAN
Independence Foundation
Professor of Nursing, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Head, WHO Collaborating Center for Home Care Nursing
216.368.8532
elizabeth.madigan@case.edu

Todd (T.J.) McCallum, PhD, FGSA
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology
CWRU
216.368.6470
tjm16@case.edu

Patricia E. McDonald, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
216.368.3345
patricia.mcdonald@case.edu

Shirley M. Moore, PhD, RN, FAAN
Distinguished University Professor; 
The Edward J. and Louise Mellen Professor; Associate Dean for Research
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
216.368.5978
shirley.moore@case.edu

Diana L. Morris, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA
Florence Cellar Associate Professor of Gerontological Nursing
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Executive Director, University Center on Aging and Health
Mandel School of Applied Social Science
216.368.6472
dlm5@case.edu

Carol M. Musil, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA
Marvin E. and Ruth Dure Denekas,
Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
216.368.8775
carol.musil@case.edu

Patrick Murray, MD
2500 Metrohealth Dr.
Cleveland, OH 44109
Pkm3@case.edu 

Wyatt Newman, PhD, PE
Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
CWRU  School of Engineering
216.368.6432
Wyatt.newman@case.edu

Elizabeth E. O’Toole, MD 
Professor of Medicine, Bioethics, and Family Medicine, 
CWRU School of Medicine
Associate Director, University Center on Aging and Health
216.778.2777
elizabeth.otoole@case.edu

Muralidhar Pallaki, MD, FACP
Medical Director
Geriatric Evaluation and Management Unit
Cleveland VA Medical Center
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University
10701 East Blvd.
Cleveland, Ohio  44106
216.791.3800 x5269
Muralidhar.pallaki@va.gov

Marian B. Patterson, PhD
Adjunct Professor, Departments of Neurology, Psychiatry
CWRU
216.844.6368
marian.patterson@case.edu

George Perry, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Pathology
CWRU  School of Medicine
216.368.2488
george.perry@case.edu

Grace J. Petot, MA, MS 
Assistant Professor Emerita
Department of Nutrition
CWRU School of Medicine
216.932.0507
grace.petot@case.edu

Kathleen A. Smyth, PhD, FGSA 
Associate Professor, Population & Quantitative Health Sciences
CWRU School of Medicine
216.368.7579
kathleen.smyth@case.edu

Kurt C. Stange, MD, PhD
Editor, Annuals of Family Medicine www.AnnFamMed.org
Professor of Family Medicine, Population & Quantitative Health Sciences
CWRU School of Medicine, Sociology
216.368.6297
Kurt.stange@case.edu

Carolyn Harmon Still, PhD, MSM, AGPCNP-BC, CCRP
Assistant Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, CWRU 
216.368.6338
cwh11@case.edu

Aloen L. Townsend, PhD, FGSA
Ralph S. and Dorothy P. Schmitt Professor, Chair of the Doctoral Program
Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences, Sociology
216.368.0373
aloen.townsend@case.edu

Camille Warner, PhD
Assistant Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Associate Director, University Center on Aging & Health
216.368.5352
camille.warner@case.edu

Peter J. Whitehouse, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurology, Neurosciences, Psychiatry
CWRU School of Medicine, Cognitive Science, Psychology, Bioethics, Nursing, History, and Organization Behavior at CWRU
Director, Adult Learning, The Intergenerational School
216.844.6448
peter.whitehouse@case.edu

May L. Wykle, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA, FAGHE
Director Emerita, Center for Aging and Health
Dean & Professor Emerita, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
216.368.2545
may.wykle@case.edu

Jaclene A. Zauszniewski, Ph.D., RN-BC, FAAN, 
Kate Hanna Harvey Professor of Community Health Nursing, 
Director of the PhD in Nursing Program, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing 
216.368.3612
jaz@case.edu

Xiongwei Zhu, PhD
Professor, Department of Pathology & Division of General Medical Sciences
Associate Professor, Neurology
CWRU School of Medicine
216.368.5903
xiongwei.zhu@case.edu

Wen-Quan Zou, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology and Neurology, Division of General Medicine
CWRU School of Medicine
216.368.8993
Wenquan.zou@case.edu

Research Associates

Amy Lipson, PhD
Senior Research Associate, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
216.368.3107
Amy.Lipson@case.edu

Student Associates 

 

Erik Baum, PhD(c)
School of Nursing

Tirth Raj Bhatta, PhD(c)
Department of Sociology
Trb66@case.edu

Seungjong Cho, PhD(c)
Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

Alycia Conway

Claudia Gates, BSN(c)
School of Nursing

Tyrone Hammler, PhD(c)
Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

Nirmala Lekhak, PhD(c)
School of Nursing

Karen Moss, PhD(c)
School of Nursing

Christine Musachhio, PhD(c)
School of Nursing

En-jong Shon, PhD(c)
Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

Mary Ellen Stone, PhD(c)
Research Assistant, Department of Sociology
Mes181@case.edu

Weidi Qin, PhD(c)
Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

CONTACTS

Executive Director:

Diana L. Morris, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA
216.368.6472
dlm5@case.edu

Associate Directors:

Evelyn Duffy, DNP, ANP/GNP-BC, FAANP
216.368.5485
exd4@case.edu

Camille Warner, PhD
216.368.5352
cdb6@case.edu

Elizabeth O'Toole, MD
exo5@case.edu

Department Assistant III:

Fabrienne "Fay" Alexander, BA
216.368.2692
fxa31@case.edu