Authorized Users Process Changes

Students can grant access to another individual by making that person an Authorized User of the Student Information System (SIS). The Authorized User process has been updated.  This page highlights the process changes.

Change Highlights

The Authorized User management pages are now mobile friendly, making it easy to create and adjust settings on the go.

Students no longer set the Authorized User's password.

  • Students are now responsible for communicating the User ID rather than the password to the Authorized User.
  • SIS will now create a temporary password for the Authorized User.
  • Authorized Users will be prompted to change their password when utilizing a temporary password, or when their password is older than 365 days.
  • Students can only reset the Authorized User’s password which creates a new temporary password, emailed to the Authorized User.

After the initial account creation, the student no longer can change the Authorized User's email address.

Authorized Users have a new management page, available by clicking the Profile - Guest tile, to initiate a password change or to change their email address.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

No action is required on the student’s part for continued access of the Authorized User.

In SIS, navigate to the Profile tile and then click Authorized Users in the menu. Additional information can be found by reviewing the Manage Authorized Users page.

In SIS, navigate to the Profile tile and then click Authorized Users in the menu. Click on the authorized user account and then click Reset Password. SIS will ask for confirmation before performing the password change. A new temporary password will be sent to the Authorized User’s email account on file with SIS. They will need to establish a new password upon first log in.

Unfortunately, the only course of action is to create a new account for the Authorized User. We recommend locking the old account as a security best practice.

In SIS, navigate to the Profile tile and then click Authorized Users in the menu. Click on the authorized user account and then slide the Lock User prompt to Yes. Finally, click Save.

See SIS Resources for full process guide.