Remove a Single Class Section

OVERVIEW

This process is used when a course has two or more class sections, but one or more need to be deleted.

Before the Schedule of Classes is made public to students, classes and class sections that departments don't want to offer during a term can be deleted from the schedule. There is a significant and important difference between deleting a section of a class and canceling a section of a class. A class section can be deleted from a class offering as long as the Print checkbox is off, no students are enrolled in the section, and no students have the section in their shopping cart. A class section should be cancelled if the Print checkbox is on, if students have enrolled in the section, or if students have the section in their shopping cart.

Please see Remove a Course Completely from the Schedule for directions on how to remove a course offering entirely from the term schedule, and Cancel a Class Section for directions on how to cancel a class section.

After Print =  Ø

Note: Begin by logging into the SIS at case.edu/sis with your CWRU Network ID and password.

  1. From the NavBar, select Navigator > Curriculum Management > Schedule of Classes > Maintain Schedule of Classes.

    The Maintain Schedule of Classes search screen appears.

  2. Click Look up Academic Institution and select CASE1.

  3. Click Look up Term and select the appropriate term from the list.

  4. Click Search.

  5. All courses owned by your department and scheduled during the chosen term appear in the search results. Select the class from which a section should be deleted.

  6. The Basic Data tab appears. Find the section that needs to be deleted by clicking the Show next row button on the Class Sections box header until it appears.

  7. Confirm the class section selected by viewing the number in the Class Section field.

  8. Locate the Schedule Print checkbox. If the box is checked, then the section cannot be deleted because it has been made public to students. If there is no checkmark, then the section can be deleted.

  9. Click the Enrollment Control tab.

  10. On the Enrollment Cntrl tab, locate the Enrollment Capacity field. If the Total value next to the Enrollment Capacity is "0", then the section can be deleted.

    If the number is greater than 0, then students are enrolled in the section and it must be cancelled instead of deleted. Please see Cancel a Class after it has Been Published for directions.

  11. Click the Basic Data tab.

    Ensure that you are still viewing the class section that is to be deleted by confirming the number in the Class Section field.

  12. Click the Delete row button. A Delete row confirmation message appears.

    If an error message appears that a student has the class in their shopping cart, the section cannot be deleted and should instead be cancelled. Please see Cancel a Class after it has Been Published for directions.

  13. Click OK to delete the section, or click Cancel to cancel the deletion.

    Once the section has been deleted, note the number of sections indicated in the Class Sections box header. There should be one less row than there was previously.

  14. Click Save.

This completes the process of deleting a class section from a course offering.

Refer to the remaining job aids in this section to assist with additional edits to the schedule of classes.