About the CWRU IRB and Its Members

About the IRB

The Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) Institutional Review Board reviews social science/behavioral studies, and low-risk biomedical research not conducted in a hospital setting. The research may be initiated in any University department; however, the CWRU IRB primarily reviews protocols from the departments of Anthropology, Sociology, Psychology, MSASS, Engineering and the Weatherhead School of Management. The CWRU IRB also reviews biomedical research proposals that do not involve patients or employees at one of the above affiliated hospitals. The CWRU IRB must review and approve all human subject research conducted by faculty, staff, and students regardless of the location of the research activity.

When is IRB Approval Required?

If your project involves "research" and "human subjects" as defined by 45 CFR 46, you must submit an application to the CWRU IRB for approval prior to the recruitment of study participants and the collection of data. Human study participant research for student theses and dissertations always requires prior IRB approval. Data collected before approval is obtained cannot be used for research.


Download a PDF containing answers to frequently asked questions about the IRB.

Who are the members of the CWRU IRB?

To comply with the federal regulations regarding human study participants in research (45 CFR 46), the CWRU IRB must consist of at least five members. These members are appointed by the University Provost and aim, "...to promote complete and adequate review of research activities commonly conducted" at the University. In addition to faculty members with expertise in scientific areas, the CWRU IRB includes at least one member whose primary concerns are in a nonscientific area. Also, at least one member must be from the community, and must not be affiliated with the institution.

The CWRU IRB may, in its discretion, invite individuals with competence in special areas to assist in the review of issues which require expertise beyond or in addition to that available on the IRB; these consultants, however, do not vote with the IRB.

CWRU IRB Members

  • Sana Loue, JD, PhD, MPH, IRB Chairman
  • Barbara Lewis, PhD, Vice-Chair
  • Louise Acheson, MD
  • Marilyn Burns
  • Damian Calvert
  • David Crampton, PhD
  • Dana Crawford, PhD
  • Nicole Deming, JD
  • Catherine Demko, PhD
  • Marguerite Dimarco, PhD
  • Norah Feeny, PhD
  • Timothy Fogarty, PhD, JD
  • Cal Frye
  • Robert Greene, PhD
  • Meredith Hellmer, MSW
  • Theresa Jasinevicius, DDS
  • Richard Lee, MD
  • Scott Moore, PhD, APRN, AGPCNP-BC
  • Laura Morello, MS
  • Andre Paes Batista da Silva, DDS, PhD
  • Leena Palomo, DDS
  • Ginger Pomiecko, MA
  • Chris Winkelman, PhD