2020 Blavatnik National Awards

The Blavatnik National Awards honor America's most innovative young faculty-rank scientists and engineers.

This national faculty competition of the Blavatnik Awards will reward excellence by young faculty members in three disciplinary categories. Every year, one nominee in each category will be named a Blavatnik Laureate and awarded $250,000 in unrestricted funds:

  • Blavatnik National Laureate Award for Young Scientists in Life Sciences
  • Blavatnik National Laureate Award for Young Scientists in Physical Sciences & Engineering
  • Blavatnik National Laureate Award for Young Scientists in Chemistry

Nominees and their work as independent investigators will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

  • Quality: The extent to which the work is reliable, valid, credible, and scientifically rigorous.
  • Impact: The extent to which the work addresses an important problem and is influential in the nominee’s field, related fields, or beyond, and/or has the potential to benefit society.
  • Novelty: The extent to which the work challenges existing paradigms, establishes a new field or considerably expands on an existing field, employs new methodologies or concepts, and/or pursues an original question.
  • Promise: The nominee has the potential for further significant contributions to science, and the research program will generate further impactful and novel discoveries. 
Number of Applications
3 (1 each: Life Sciences; Physical Sciences & Engineering; Chemistry)


The nominee must:

  • Have been born on or after 1978.
  • Hold a doctorate degree (Ph.D., DPhil, MD, DDS, DVM, etc.).
  • Currently, hold a tenured or tenure-track academic faculty position (or equivalent) at an invited institution in the United States.
  • Currently conduct research as a principal investigator in one of the disciplinary categories in Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, or Chemistry.

The Blavatnik Awards strongly encourage the nomination of women and other underrepresented groups in science and engineering.

Age Limit Exceptions

Age limit exceptions will be considered by the Academy in exceptional circumstances upon a detailed written submission from the nominating institution received by the Academy by Wednesday, October 30, 2019. For more information, please contact us at blavatnikawards@nyas.org. We strongly encourage institutions considering nominating candidates born prior to 1978 to contact us as early as possible during the nomination period.

Dual or Joint Appointments

For nominees holding a dual or joint appointment at more than one institution, the nominee must be employed by the nominating institution at least 50% full-time effort.

Returning Nominees

Non-winning nominees from prior Blavatnik Awards nomination cycles are eligible to be re-nominated by their institutions as one of their three nominees, provided they still meet all eligibility requirements.

Submission Process

Step 1:

For consideration as a finalist, investigators must submit the following proposal materials as a single PDF email attachment to limitedsubmission@case.edu no later than 5:00 p.m. on September 17, 2019:

  1. A one-page, 12-point font, one-inch margin cover letter, including PI name, department/division, school/college, project title and brief summary of the applicant’s research history and ongoing promise, and
  2. A federal-grant-style biosketch (typically NIH or NSF).
Step 2:

Final nominees will be notified of their selection by September 27, 2019.

Step 3:

The final proposal must be received by the Office of Research Administration by November 6, 2019, at 5:00 pm EST.

Step 4:

The final proposal must be received by the sponsor by November 13, 2019, at 5:00 pm EST.


Abstract or LOI to ORA Chosen Proposal Announced ORA Final Proposal Due Date Sponsor Submission Deadline Days Until Due
09/17/2019 09/27/2019 11/06/2019 11/13/2019 CLOSED