Dean Grover C. Gilmore Awarded Honorary Fellow of AASWSW

Grover C. Gilmore, PhD, the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Dean in Applied Social Sciences, has been unanimously selected as an Honorary Fellow of the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare (AASWSW), a status reserved for a very small number of major figures in social work who have uniquely supported the founding and development of AASWSW and the Grand Challenges for Social Work initiative.
Dean Gilmore was instrumental to AASWSW’s founding and development. In 2005, he wrote a white paper “Proposal to Establish a National Academy,” which led to a series of discussions and panel presentations at meetings of deans of social work schools. When a working group was formed in 2009, Dean Gilmore chaired the group of leadership of major social work organizations and leading social work deans. They  established AASWSW as a distinctive organization, chose its inaugural board members, and selected the Mandel School as the first administrative home of the academy.
“I am deeply humbled to receive this honor. It is made even more special by the fact that I am sharing the inaugural class of Honorary Fellows with my longtime friends and colleagues, Eddie Uehara from the University of Washington and Marilyn Flynn from the University of Southern California,” said Dean Gilmore.
The recognition acknowledges outstanding contributions and stature in the field of social work scholarship, research, and education. The induction ceremony for newly-elected Fellows will be held at the Society for Social Work Research Annual Conference in Washington, D.C., on Friday, January 12, 2018.
Dean Gilmore joins his Mandel School colleagues already inducted as Fellows of AASWSW: David Biegel, PhD (2013), Claudia J. Coulton (2010; AASWSW Treasurer), and Mark I. Singer (2014).