Cuyahoga County Conference on Social Welfare at CWRU on March 11

The Mandel School and Case Western Reserve University are thrilled to host the 6th Annual Cuyahoga County Conference on Social Welfare (CCCOSW), the area’s largest social work conference, on Friday, March 11. This is your opportunity to join hundreds of social workers and other human service professionals as they explore interdisciplinary approaches to social change. Don’t miss this unique chance to learn about new ways for human services to collaborate effectively!

This year’s conference will take place in Tinkham Veale University Center on the campus of Case Western Reserve University from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. To register for CCCOSW, click here.

Registration is $50 for working professionals and $20 for social work students as well as retired or unemployed social workers. This cost includes parking, refreshments and lunch. 5.5 social work CEUs are available for an additional $10 but are free for presenters and NASW members. 5.5 PD hours are available for Mandel School students.

The conference theme is “Everyone at the Table: Engaging Communities in Social Change.” Conference sponsors are NASW Ohio, Cleveland State University School of Social Work, the Mandel School at Case Western Reserve, Center for Community Solutions, and the Murtis Taylor Human Services System. The conference coordinator this year was the Mandel School’s own Lori Longs Painter, MSSA 1987.

The keynote is “A Partnership to Build Trust” presented by Andre Gonzalez, Chief of Police of the Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority, and Jenni Bartholomew, MSW, PhD 2015, a research associate at the Begun Center for Violence Prevention Research and Education at the Mandel School.

The closing plenary speaker is William M. Denihan, Chief Executive Officer of the Alcohol Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board of Cuyahoga County, who will discuss issues surrounding mental health.

Presenters: Alumni

    Jenni Bartholomew, MSW, PhD 2015
    Rosemary Creeden, MSSA 1994
    Angela D’Orazio, MSSA 2011
    Edna Fuentes-Casino, MSSA 2010
    Joann Hall, MSSA 1989
    Victoria Marion, MSSA 2003
    Stacey O’Brien, MSSA 1988
    Mamadou M. Seck, MSSA 1992, PhD 2007
    Rachael Sommer, MSSA 2008
    George S. Tsagaris, MSSA 1976
    Susan Weaver, MSSA 1977

Presenters: Students

    Malcolm Burton
    Gina Collander
    Rebekah Koduru
    Erica Sabados

Presenters: Faculty

    Cyleste Collins, PhD
    David Crampton, PhD
    Dorr Dearborn, PhD
    Robert Fischer, PhD

To get or share the latest updates from CCCOSW, use the hashtag #AtTheTable or tag @CCCOSW, @MandelSchool, @NASWOhioChapter or @CLE_State.