SSWR 2016: Faculty, Student and Alumni Presenters

The Mandel School is proud to be participating in the Society for Social Work Research’s 20th Annual Conference, beginning today in Washington, D.C. In addition to having a booth at the conference (#201 – see us for a special Centennial gift to SSWR attendees!), two of our faculty honored as 2016 SSWR Fellows, and Dr. Claudia Coulton’s participation on the Grand Challenges for Social Work, several faculty, students and alumni are doing the following presentations at the conference.


Claudia Coulton, PhD: Harnessing technology for social good: A grand challenge for social work.

David Crampton, PhD (pictured); Francisca Richter, PhD; and Claudia Coulton, PhD: Integrated data system analysis for the design of a pay-for-success intervention in foster care.

Claudia Coulton, PhD: Meeting the grand challenge of big data in child welfare program and policy research.     

Accepted Poster Presentations:

David Biegel, PhD: Social support and recovery: The mediating role of mattering.

Michael Gearhart, MSSA (PhD student); Dan Flannery, PhD; Mark Singer, PhD; Jeff Kretschmar, PhD; and Fredrick Butcher, PhD: ADHD, comorbidities, and trauma symptoms: Predictors of functioning in juvenile justice involved youth.

Jill Kobulsky (PhD student) and David Hussey, PhD: Demographic patterns of early use and initiation of substances among youth in the child welfare system.

David Crampton, PhD, and Susan Yoon (PhD student): Increasing adherence to team decision-making through improved family participation.

Susan Yoon (PhD student): Heterogeneity in developmental trajectories of internalizing behavior problems among children who have experienced early childhood maltreatment.

The following alumni are also presenting at SSWR 2016:

  •     Margaret Adamek, PhD 1989
  •     Suzanne Brown, PhD 2012
  •     Moon Choi, PhD 2010
  •     Julian Chow, MSSA 1984, PhD 1992
  •     Janet Hoy, MSSA 1999, PhD 2008
  •     Derrick Kranke, PhD 2009
  •     Heehyul Moon, PhD 2013
  •     Youngsam Oh, PhD student
  •     Minso Paek, PhD 2013
  •     Maureen Riley-Behringer, MSSA 1994, PhD 2015
  •     Phyllis Solomon, PhD 1978
  •     Shanta Pandey, PhD 1989