Nine Alumni Award Winners Honored at Homecoming 2019

Alumni wearing sunglasses

Alumni of the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences at Case Western Reserve University are leading forces for societal change. The strength of the alumni community will on full display during Homecoming 2019 on October 11-12, as the school and university honor nine social work and nonprofit management alumni who have made a profound impact.

“We are thrilled to recognize and celebrate these outstanding alumni,” said Anne Marie Kollander, WRC 1984, Associate Dean of Development and External Affairs. “They are an outstanding reflection of the more than 8,000 alumni who embody the Mandel School’s mission to build a more just world through leadership and service.”

Case Western Reserve Awardee

Trailblazer Project Class of 2019: Wilma Peebles-Wilkins, MSSA, 1971, PhD, DPNAP will be honored when her university portrait is unveiled at a special Homecoming 2019 ceremony on October 12. Dr. Peebles-Wilkins has been a social work practitioner, administrator, and educator for over 40 years. She has worked with autistic children since her early career, served as Dean of Boston University’s School of Social Work, and received the Annual Award for Greatest Contribution to Social Work Education by the Massachusetts chapter of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). She is a member of the Mandel School Hall of Achievement and an NASW Social Work Pioneer among many other achievements.

2019 Winners: Mandel School Alumni Association Awards

  • Distinguished Alumna Award: Ellen M. Abraham, MSSA 1980 | School Psychologist, Rapid Response/Crisis Coordinator at the Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • Professional Achievement Award: Emery M. Ivory, MSSA 1983 | Tampa Bay Area President of United Way Suncoast
  • Louis Stokes Community Service Leadership Award: Kenneth Komperda, MSSA 1989 | Community-Based Case Manager at Family Promise of Greater Cleveland
  • Nonprofit Leadership Award: Bonnie Entler, CNM 1995 | Executive Director of Seeds of Literacy in Cleveland
  • Nonprofit Leadership Award: Julian Rogers, MNO 2008 | Local Government Relations at Case Western Reserve University
  • Early Career Success Award: Tammy L. Zender, MSSA 2014 | Clinical Social Work Therapist and Owner of Talk It Out Counseling in Barberton, Ohio

2019 NASW Social Work Pioneers

The National Association of Social Workers Foundation’s Pioneer Program identifies and recognizes individuals whose unique dedication, commitment and determination have improved social and human conditions. This is one of the highest national honors in social work.

  • Claudia J. Coulton, PhD 1978 | Distinguished University Professor, Lillian F. Harris Professor of Urban Research and Social Change, and Founding Director of the Center on Urban Poverty and Community Development at the Mandel School
  • Richard Jones, MSSA 1975, PhD 1981 | Lecturer and Consultant; President Emeritus at Metropolitan Family Services