This week Google began sending out email notifications to users with the subject "Security update applied to Drive" regarding an upcoming security update being applied to shared content in Google Drive. On Sept. 13, Google will apply a security update to some shared files to make file sharing more secure. The update will change the links to some shared files.
Here’s what you need to know about the update:
- Access to these files won’t change for people who have already viewed them.
- Only some files that have previously been set to be shared with "anyone who has the link," either within the CWRU organization or everyone, will be impacted.
- Users who cannot access previously shared files can request that the files be shared with them when they attempt to access.
- You can opt out of this change for specific files, although this is not recommended. To apply or remove the security update for an impacted file or folder, go to the share options for the file or folder. Then in the "get link" area, click the gear icon and check or uncheck "Apply security update." This option will only appear for files that have had, or could have, the security update applied. If the security update has not been applied for the item, the option will not appear.
- In the search bar in Drive, you can search for all files that have the security update applied by searching for: 'is:security_update_applied.'