Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links
Office of Undergraduate Studies

Eva L. Pancoast Memorial Fellowships

Eva L. Pancoast Memorial Fellowships

WebsiteEligibilityDeadlinePast Winners CAS Women Seniors/Graduate Students March 1, 2018 See below


In June 1985, the Board of Trustees of Case Western Reserve University approved the establishment of the Eva L. Pancoast Memorial Fund by which women graduates of The College of Arts and Sciences and women students in The School of Graduate Studies at the University might be assisted in extending their education by foreign study or foreign travel, or both, at any time during the 12 months following their graduation.

Application Procedure

1. Complete and submit the following to Dean Amanda McCarthy at by the campus deadline of March 1, 2018: 

Preference will be for all documents to be sent in one singular PDF. Reference letters can be submitted separately by the letter writer either electronically to or via US/campus mail to the Office of Undergraduate Studies, Case Western Reserve University, 357 Sears Building, 10900 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH  44106-7028.

 2. Applications will be reviewed and considered by the Eva L. Pancoast Memorial Fellowships Committee.

 3. Award winners will be notified and then also honored at the Honors Assembly at the end of the spring semester.

Application Timeline
Application deadline (recommendation letters included) March 1, 2018
Committee review and selection March 19-23, 2018
Award notification March 30, 2018
Senior Academic Awards Assembly April 19, 2018

Value of the Award

The amounts of the fellowships vary, but generally range from $1,000-$3,500. Those who receive awards will be required to submit a brief report of the project after its completion with reasonable documentary evidence of major expenditures. Funds are not disbursed until expenses are incurred and original receipts are submitted.


Any questions can be direct to the following fellowship advisors:

Graduate Students
Dean Lynmarie Hamel
School of Graduate Studies

Undergraduate Students
Dean Amanda McCarthy
Undergraduate Studies

Past Winners


Santosh Coorg
Class of 2017
Cognitive Science

Leah Cummings
Class of 2017

Mahima Devarajan
Class of 2017

Caitlin Gaffney
Class of 2017
Cognitive Science
Evolutionary Biology

Christina Liu
Class of 2017

Cameron Macaskill
Class of 2017
International Studies
Political Science


Colleen Bosworth
Class of 2016
Systems Biology

Courtney Eng
Class of 2016

Alayna Klco
Class of 2016
Cognitive Science
International Studies

Hannah Olson-Williams
Class of 2016

Margo Schmiederer
Class of 2016

Return to Case Western Reserve University and Ohio Scholarships