Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links

Molecular Oncology

Program Focus Areas

  • Discover mechanisms of cancer stem cell regulation for cancer prevention and treatment
  • Identify how defective DNA damage repair promotes genomic instability and alters therapeutic response
  • Reveal key host-tumor interactions that promote tumor progression and therapeutic resistance 

Program Members

Fadi Abdul-Karim, MD
Professor, Pathology
karimf@ccf.org

Alexandru Almasan, PhD
Co-Leader, Molecular Oncology Program
Professor, Cancer Biology, Radiation Oncology

almasaa@ccf.org

Suneel Apte, MBBS, DPhil
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
aptes@ccf.org 

Joshua Arbesman, MD
Assistant Professor, Dermatology
joshua.arbesman@UHhospitals.org

Shideng Bao, PhD
Associate Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
baos@ccf.org

Eli E. Bar, PhD
Assistant Professor, Neurological Surgery
eli.bar@case.edu

G. Valentin Börner, PhD
Associate Professor, Biological, Geological, and Environmental Sciences
g.boerner@csuohio.edu

Jonathan Mark Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
brownm5@ccf.org

Matthias Buck, PhD
Professor, Physiology and Biophysics
mxb150@case.edu

Cathleen Carlin, PhD
Professor, Molecular Biology and Microbiology
cxc39@case.edu

Jeffery Coller, PhD
Professor, Center for RNA Molecular Biology
jmc71@case.edu

Analisa DiFeo, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
analisa.difeo@case.edu

Thomas T. Egelhoff, PhD
Professor, Cell Biology
tte@case.edu

Paul L. Fox, PhD
Professor, Cell Biology
foxp@ccf.org

Hannah L. Gilmore, MD
Associate Professor, Anatomic Pathology
hannah.gilmore@UHhospitals.org

Candece L. Gladson, MD
Professor, Cancer Biology
gladsoc@ccf.org

Zihua Gong, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cancer Biology
gongz@ccf.org

Edward M. Greenfield, PhD
Professor, Orthopaedics
emg3@case.edu

Peter J. Harte, PhD
Professor, Genetics
pjh3@case.edu

Ming Hu, PhD
Assistant Professor, Quantitative Health Sciences
hum@ccf.org

Mark W. Jackson, PhD
Associate Professor, Pathology
mark.w.jackson@case.edu

Eckhard Jankowsky, PhD
Professor, Biochemistry
exj13@case.edu

Fulai Jin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetics & Genome Sciences 
fxj45@case.edu

Ge Jin, PhD
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences
ge.jin@case.edu

Hung-Ying Kao, PhD
Professor, Biochemistry
hung.kao@case.edu

Ruth A. Keri, PhD
Associate Director for Basic Research
Professor and Vice Chair, Pharmacology
keri@case.edu

Ahmad M. Khalil, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
amk175@case.edu

Justin D. Lathia, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
lathiaj@ccf.org

Jeongwu Lee, PhD
Assistant Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
leej7@ccf.org

Bibo Li, PhD
Associate Professor, Biological, Geological, and Environmental Sciences
b.li37@csuohio.edu

Yong Li, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
liy2@ccf.org

James K. Liu, MD
Assistant Professor, Neurosciences
jamesliu@case.edu

Paul N. MacDonald, PhD
Professor, Pharmacology
paul.macdonald@case.edu

Roger Macklis, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
roger.macklis@UHhospitals.org

Danny Manor, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition
dxm178@case.edu

Shigemi Matsuyama, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
sxm193@case.edu

Christine L. McDonald, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathobiology
mcdonac2@ccf.org

Thomas M. McIntyre, PhD
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
mcintyt@ccf.org

Jason A. Mears, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pharmacology
jam348@case.edu

Marvin T. Nieman, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology
nieman@case.edu

Nancy Oleinick, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
nlo@case.edu

Quintin Pan, PhD
Professor, Otolaryngology
quintin.pan@UHhospitals.org 

Jun Qin, PhD
Professor, Molecular Cardiology
qinj@ccf.org

Ofer Reizes, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cell Biology
reizeso@ccf.org

Kurt W. Runge, PhD
Associate Professor, Molecular Genetics
rungek@ccf.org

Helen Salz, PhD
Professor, Genetics and Genome Medicine
helen.salz@case.edu

William P. Schiemann, PhD
Professor, General Medical Sciences-Oncology
william.schiemann@case.edu

Alvin H. Schmaier, MD
Professor, Hematology and Oncology
schmaier@case.edu

Ganes C. Sen, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
seng@ccf.org

Chirag Shah, MD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
shahc4@ccf.org

Khalid Sossey-Alaoui, PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Cardiology
sosseyk@ccf.org

George R. Stark, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
starkg@ccf.org

Duncan Stearns, MD
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology
duncan.stearns@case.edu

Olga Stenina-Adognravi PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Cardiology
stenino@ccf.org

Bin Su, PhD
Associate Professor, Chemistry
b.su@csuohio.edu

Hoonkyo Suh, PhD
Assistant Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
suhh2@ccf.org

Derek J. Taylor, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology
derek.taylor@case.edu

Pallavi Tiwari, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
pxt130@case.edu

Saba Valadkhan, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry
saba.valadkhan@case.edu

Bingcheng Wang, PhD
Co-Leader, Molecular Oncology Program
Professor, Medicine-Nephrology

bxw14@case.edu

Sichun Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Center for Proteomics and Bioinformatics
sichun.yang@case.edu

Vivien C. Yee, PhD
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
vcy2@case.edu

Jennifer Yu, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology and Stem Cell Biology
yuj2@ccf.org

Junran Zhang, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
junran.zhang@case.edu

Youwei Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology
yxz169@case.edu

Guang Zhou, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics
guang.zhou@case.edu

Program Leaders

Alexandru Almasan, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology, Radiation Oncology
almasaa@ccf.org

Bing-Cheng Wang, PhD
Professor, Medicine-Nephrology
bxw14@case.edu