Asian Faculty Association

Globe with Asian countries highlighted in green


The number of Asian faculty is steadily growing at CWRU. These faculty members, with their ethnical and cultural backgrounds, bring exceptional perspective and tremendous value to the CWRU and Cleveland community. On the other hand, Asian faculty members also face particular needs and challenges in their career development and growth. This concern was highlighted by a recent CWRU-wide faculty satisfaction survey. The data indicate that Asian faculties have the strongest reservation for their career prospective at Case. With support from the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, we are initiating an effort to establish a CWRU Asian Faculty Association (AFA).

Registration information for our inaugural meeting June 3, 2016 can be found below.

Mission statement

The mission of AFA is to provide a formal networking platform for Asian faculty to foster their growth –personal and professional. The AFA will also serve as the voice to represent and advocate for its members; and to increase the awareness of issues specific to the Asian faculty community.

Organizing Committee:‌

Sanjay Gupta (UH/Urology)
Hyoung-Gon Lee (Pathology)
Li Li, Co-Chair, (UH/Family Medicine)
Huiping Liu (Pathology)
Guiming Liu (Metro)
Hong-Ying Kao (Biochemistry)
Anant Madabhushi (Biomedical Engineering)
Shigemi Matsuyama (Medicine)
Masaru Miyagi (Proteonomic Center)
Monica Montano (Pharmacology)
Man-Sun Sy, Chair, (Pathology)
Angela Ting (CCF)
Zhenghe (John) Wang (Genetics)
Bingcheng Wang (MetroHealth)
Rong Xu (Epidemiology and Biostatistics)
Amy Zhang (Nursing)

Advisory Committee:

Nathan Berger, MD
Charis Eng, MD, PhD
Mukesh Jain, MD
Stan Gerson, MD
George Stark, PhD