Recognizing our distinguished 2020 graduates: Excellence and Achievement Awards

photo of graduating students throwing their caps.

Excellence and Achievement Awards

Alexander Haddad

Patricia Burgess Public Law Prize

Presented to Alexander Haddad for outstanding academic performance in the field of public law.



Anthony Severyn

Richard A. and Brandon S. Collier Award

Presented to Anthony Severyn with outstanding achievement in the law-medicine curriculum.



Jessica Ice

Diane Ethics Award

Presented to Jessica Ice for demonstrating, in academic, professional and extracurricular activities, the best understanding of the ethics and ideals of the legal profession.


Sophia Hulen and Adrianne Rose

Paul J. Hergenroeder Award

Presented to Sophia Hulen and Adrianne Rose for being the best students in trial tactics.



Sophia Hulen

International Academy of Trial Lawyers

Presented to Sophia Hulenan outstanding student in the trial advocacy program.



Alicia Abrona Hampton

John Wragg Kellogg Prize

Presented to Alicia Abrona Hampton, a minority student who, at the end of the first year, demonstrated the greatest achievement.



Sophia Hulen and Abigail Maree Thederahn

Sidney H. Moss Award

Presented to Sophia Hulen and Abigail Thederahn, who earned the highest grades in Evidence.



Jessica Ice and Stephen James Kovacic

Federal Bar Association Award

Presented to Jessica Ice and Stephen Kovacic

for earning the highest grades in each section of Constitutional Law I.


Joseph Shell

William H. Wallace Award

Presented to Joseph Shell for demonstrating excellence in litigation skills.



Megan Elizabeth Goedecker

Stanley I. and Hope S. Adelstein Environmental Law Summer Grant

Presented to Megan Goedecker to support summer legal work in environmental law.


Meghan Lunders

Clinical Legal Education Association's (CLEA) Outstanding Student Award

Presented to Meghan Lunders for excellence in a clinical course.



Jessica Ice

The Outstanding Women Law Graduate Award

Presented by the National Association of Women Lawyers to Jessica Ice for achieving academic distinction and promising contributions to society and to the profession.


Chelsea Fletcher and Alexandra Waid

Zashin & Rich Employment and Labor Prize

Presented to Chelsea Fletcher and Alexandra Waid for significant achievement in employment law in recognition of Stephen Zashin’s instrumental work and contribution to the legal community.


Morgan Westwood

Littler Mendelson Labor Law Award

Presented to Morgan Westwood for excelling in the study of labor and employment law.



Ashley Mulryan

Sicherman Bankruptcy Award

Presented to Ashley Mulryan by the Bankruptcy and Commercial Law Section of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association for demonstrating scholarship, commitment and aptitude for a career in bankruptcy law.