State Authorization and Compliance

Institutions engaging in regulated activities outside of their home states are required to be in compliance with the regulations and laws of each state where the activities occur as well as with federal regulations.  An institution may achieve compliance either through a state’s authorization process or through a reciprocity agreement.  

National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) Approved Institution

SARA (State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements) is an agreement between U.S. states and territories created for national oversight of postsecondary distance education offered across state lines. The State of Ohio has been a SARA member since March 2015.

Institutions must be approved by their home states to participate in SARA. Approved institutions are authorized to offer distance education in every SARA state. On September 16, 2015, Case Western Reserve University was approved by the State of Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in SARA .  In 2019, Case Western Reserve University was approved to continue participation.  

SARA Member States
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia*, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico*, Rhode Island,  South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, U.S. Virgin Islands*, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
*Considered states for the purposes of SARA.

Non-SARA States


Case Western Reserve University is in compliance with the State of California to offer degree programs and courses per the following: 

  • Online As an accredited, private non-profit postsecondary institution, Case Western Reserve University is not required to register (seek approval) with California to offer online programs and courses.
Northern Mariana Islands  

Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) is a private, not-for-profit institution located in Cleveland, Ohio.  CWRU has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission since 1913.  CWRU is authorized by the Ohio Department of Higher Education.  (view State of Ohio Certificate of Authorization)

Accredited Programs

The following are accredited programs which may be offered via distance education or on campus:

  • The Jack Joseph, and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences Master of Science in Social Administration (MSSA) program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).
  • The Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).
  • Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine's Master of Science in Anesthesia (MSA) program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).

For information concerning accreditation of all of Case Western Reserve University's programs, please click here to access the CWRU's Accreditation page.

Higher education institutions delivering courses by distance education are required to provide the contact information for official entities or agencies within each state designated to handle complaint resolution. States are required by the US Department of Education to have complaint processes available to any enrolled or prospective distance education student.

Internal Resolution

Distance education students are encouraged to first attempt internal resolution by following the University’s Academic Grievance Procedure. Case Western Reserve University’s Academic Grievance Procedure (also referred to as Academic Grievance Policy) can be found in the Case Western Reserve University General Bulletin. See “Academic Policies” under the School of Graduate Studies and “Academic Policies and Procedures” under the Office of Undergraduate Studies.

If you need further assistance concerning the University’s academic grievance procedure, please contact your School, the School of Graduate Studies, or the Office of Undergraduate Studies.

External Resolution

In instances when internal resolution cannot be reached or the student is dissatisfied with the outcome, they have the right to appeal to appropriate state agencies. Determining which agency to contact depends on whether the student is located in a SARA member state or a non-SARA state.


Programs leading to professional licensure or certification are required to disclose whether they meet educational requirements in all states. 

In Ohio Case Western Reserve University's programs meet the licensure requirements for the State of Ohio.
Outside of Ohio If you plan to practice outside of the state of Ohio, please check with your intended program prior to beginning a course of study to determine whether the program meets the educational requirements of your state or territory.
It is also advisable to check with the licensure board of your state or territory. Contact information for licensure boards can be accessed here

Disclaimer: The University does not represent or guarantee that programs which fulfill the State of Ohio's license requirements will fulfill the requirements set by professional licensure boards in other US states and territories.