Nominating Committee

Members 2020-2021

Phil Cola, chair 
Associate Professor
Weatherhead School of Management
Kathleen Farkas, Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences 2019-2021
Ben Lolli, Physical Education and Athletics 2020-2022
Catherine Scallen, College of Arts and Sciences 2020-2022
Joseph Custer, School of Law 2019-2021
Evelyn Duffy, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing 2019-2021
Matthew Willard, Case School of Engineering 2020-2022
Thomas Kelley, School of Medicine 2019-2021
ex officio  

Leena Palomo
School of Dental Medicine
Faculty Senate, vice-chair

Kelly Rindfleisch Marcus, Secretary of the University Faculty; Director of Emeriti Affairs  


From the Constitution, Article VI., Sec. B. , Par. 1-2:

"Par. 1. The Nominating Committee shall consist of the chair-elect of the Faculty Senate, ex officio, the Secretary of the University Faculty, ex officio , and nine voting members of the University Faculty, (if possible, those who serve or those who have served as senators or members of faculty senate standing committees), one representing each of the eight constituent faculties, to be selected by the faculty senators representing that faculty, and also including one representative from the Department of Physical Education and Athletics. The term of membership on the Nominating Committee shall be two years. A member of the Nominating Committee may serve no more than two terms consecutively. Members shall serve overlapping two-year terms.

Par. 2. The Nominating Committee shall nominate candidates for the position of chair-elect and for membership of the standing and ad hoc committees of the Faculty Senate, unless otherwise specified. The Faculty Senate shall elect a chair-elect and members of such standing and ad hoc committees from the nominees named by the Nominating Committee, except that additional nominations shall be invited from the floor. No nominations shall be valid unless the proposed nominee shall have signified in advance a willingness to serve."

From the By-Laws of the Faculty Senate, By-Law VII., Item c.:

"The membership and functions of the Nominating Committee shall be as provided in the Constitution, Article VI, Section B, subject, however, to the following provisions:

1) Pursuant to the Constitution, Article VI, Section B, the annual designation of members of the Nominating Committee for the following year shall be made not later than May 1, and the term of membership on the Nominating Committee shall begin the day following Commencement Day.

2) Each year, the Nominating Committee shall submit to the Faculty Senate nominations for membership in standing committees for the following year not later than April 1; and the term of membership of all elected members of standing committees shall begin on the day following Commencement Day.

3) In the selection of nominees for membership on each standing committee of the Faculty Senate, the Nominating Committee shall consult with the incumbent Chair of the committee for which nominees are being selected."