Recognizing Our Distinguished 2022 Graduates: Excellence and Achievement Awards

From left: Christopher Switzer, Ester Khaykin, James Satola (LAW '89) and Dean Michael Scharf
From left: Christopher Switzer and Ester Khaykin, recipients of the Federal Bar Association Award with James Satola (LAW '89) and Dean Michael Scharf. Not pictured: Ellen Boyd, award recipient

The School of Law at Case Western Reserve University congratulates students from the class of 2022 who received the following Excellence and Achievement awards:

Patricia Burgess Public Law Prize

Presented to Mark Firmin Jr. for outstanding academic performance in the field of public law.

Richard A. and Brandon S. Collier Award

Presented to Bailey Kadian for outstanding achievement in the law-medicine curriculum.

Diane Ethics Award

Presented to Lillian Hall for demonstrating, in academic, professional and extracurricular activities, the best understanding of the ethics and ideals of the legal profession.

Paul J. Hergenroeder Award

Presented to Ellen Boyd and Rachel McKay for being the best students in trial tactics.

International Academy of Trial Lawyers

Presented to Madeline Kelley, an outstanding student in the trial advocacy program.

John Wragg Kellogg Prize

Presented to Makela Hayford, a minority student who, at the end of the first year, demonstrated the greatest achievement.

Sidney H. Moss Award

Presented to Andrew Rumschlag, Katherine Karkoska and Erica Hudson, who earned the highest grades in Evidence.

Federal Bar Association Award

Presented to Ellen Boyd, Ester Khaykin and Christopher Switzer for earning the highest grades in each section of Constitutional Law I.

William H. Wallace Award

Presented to Athavan Balendran for demonstrating excellence in litigation skills.

Clinical Legal Education Association's Outstanding Student Award

Presented to Leah Rothfeld for excellence in a clinical course or externship.

Callan Foran
Callan Foran

The Outstanding Woman Law Graduate Award

Presented by the National Association of Women Lawyers to Callan Foran for achieving academic distinction and promising contributions to society and to the profession.

Zashin & Rich Employment and Labor Prize

Presented to Danielle Dalporto and Ginger Pinkerton for significant achievement in employment law in recognition of Stephen Zashin’s instrumental work and contribution to the legal community.

Zashin & Rich Family Law Award

Presented to Elena Barone for outstanding performance in advanced domestic relations or family law.

Littler Mendelson Labor Law Award

Presented to Christopher Switzer for excelling in the study of labor and employment law.

Sicherman Bankruptcy Award

Presented to Jillian Fox by the Bankruptcy and Commercial Law Section of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association for demonstrating scholarship, commitment and aptitude for a career in bankruptcy law.