Transferable Credits

Who is eligible to receive AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™?


"Physicians (MDs, DOs or those with equivalent degrees earned outside the U.S.) may apply for the AMA PRA if they hold a valid and current license issued by either one of the U.S., Canadian or Mexican licensing jurisdictions or are engaged in residency training in an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) accredited program. Non-physician health professionals are not eligible for this award."

Further information for physicians.

Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine (DO)

Further information for DOs.


Further information for pharmacists.


Further information for nurses.

*Please remember that this information is not all-inclusive. If you have specific questions on how the AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ will translate for your license, please contact your state board directly.