Dan Flannery becomes 8th Mandel School AASWSW Fellow

Dan Flannery shakes hands with the presenter of his AASWSW Fellow award

Daniel J. Flannery, the Dr. Semi J. and Ruth Begun Professor and director of the Begun Center for Violence Prevention Research and Education, has been elected a 2024 Fellow of the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare (AASWSW), a distinguished honorific society of prominent scholars, top researchers and practitioners.

The AASWSW selected eight individuals for induction, recognizing their distinguished accomplishments as scholars, practice and/or policy leaders dedicated to achieving excellence in high-impact work to advance social good.

Flannery was named a Distinguished University Professor of Case Western Reserve University this fall. The designation represents the highest honor the university will bestow upon a member of its professoriate and acknowledges the significant national contributions Flannery has made in research and service.

One nominator commented that he “...is one of the most consequential social scientists in the country. Every feature of his academic record… is superlative."

His research has been published in a variety of scientific outlets including The New England Journal of Medicine, Developmental Psychology, Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, and Criminology and Public Policy. He is also the author of several books including Violence in Everyday Life (2006), Wanted on Warrants: The Fugitive Safe Surrender Program (2013), and the Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression (2nd edition, 2018). His primary areas of research are in youth violence prevention, the link between violence and mental health, and community-based program evaluation.

Flannery will be formally inducted as an AASWSW Fellow on Saturday, Jan. 13, from 7:30 to 8:30 p.m., at The City Club of Washington—a few blocks from the Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR) Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. He joins colleagues David BiegelClaudia CoultonGrover “Cleve” Gilmore, Victor GrozaMark SingerElizabeth Tracy and Dexter Voisin as faculty members of the Mandel School who are also Fellows of the Academy.