Sanctioned and Embargoed Countries

The Department of Treasury, Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) broadly regulates and restricts transactions with embargoed and sanctioned countries including certain academic collaborations and exchange of research materials and equipment.

The most comprehensive controls apply to: Cuba; Iran; North Korea; Syria; and the Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of the Ukraine.

The US government has also imposed new economic sanctions and export controls on Russia and Belarus. These sanctions are evolving.

Travel to these countries, as well as research-related activity and academic collaborations with these countries (whether funded or unfunded), remains tightly regulated and generally requires a Treasury Department (“OFAC”) export license. 

Because these U.S. export control/OFAC regulations are complex and violations may result in severe financial penalties to the traveler and to the University, those at Case Western Reserve University must consult with the CWRU Compliance and Privacy Office, which leads the university in export control compliance, under the following circumstances:

• Traveling on behalf of Case Western Reserve University (regardless of nationality or passport used);
• Wishing to participate in academic collaborations;
• Providing a service;
• Engaging with any persons or entities within those countries;
• Attending a conference (in person or online); and/or
• Exchanging research materials, data or equipment.

Please contact us at if you need more information or have specific questions.