Executive Committee

Emeriti Academy Approvals and Endorsements: 

Members of the Executive Committee include:

Case School of Engineering:

  • Patrick Crago, Professor Emeritus of Biomedical Engineering (2022-2025)

College of Arts and Sciences:

  • Charlotte Ikels, Professor Emerita of Anthropology (September 2021-2024)

  • Sandra Russ, Distinguished University Professor Emerita and Professor Emerita, Department of Psychological Sciences (2022-2025)

School of Medicine:*

  • Nancy Oleinick, Vice-Chair 2022-2023; Joseph T. Wearn MD University Professor Emerita of Medicine, and Professor Emerita, Department of Radiation Oncology (2021-2024; 2018-2021)

  • Carole Liedtke, Professor Emerita of Pediatrics, Case School of Medicine, representing basic science departments (2023-2026)

  • Antonnette Graham, Professor Emerita of Family Medicine, Case School of Medicine, representing clinical science departments (2023-2026)

The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences:

  • Claudia Coulton, Distinguished University Professor Emerita and Professor Emerita of Social Work and Practice, Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences (2023-2026)

School of Dental Medicine:*

School of Law:

  • Wilbur (Bill) Leatherberry, Professor Emeritus of Law (September 2021-2024)

Weatherhead School of Management:

  • Matthew Sobel, William E. Umstattd Professor Emeritus of Industrial Economics and Professor Emeritus of Operations (2022-2025)

School of Nursing:

  • Shirley Moore, Distinguished University Professor Emerita and Edward J. and Louise Mellen Professor Emerita of Nursing, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing (2023-2026)

Distinguished University Professors:

  • Eva Kahana, Distinguished University Professor Robson Professor of Sociology, Humanities, Applied Social Science, Nursing and Medicine (2021-2024; 2018-2021; 2016-2018)

  • Alan Rocke, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus and Henry Eldridge Bourne Professor Emeritus of History, Department of History (2022-2025)

Ex-Officio Members

  • J. Thomas Mortimer, Emeriti Marshal

  • Interim Provost Joy K. Ward / Designee Charles Rozek, Vice Provost for Graduate Education & Academic & Faculty Affairs

  • Kelly Rindfleisch Marcus, Director of Emeriti Affairs

  • James Simmelink, ex officio, Past Chair 2023-2024; Chair 2022-2023, 2018-2019, Associate Professor Emeritus of Restorative Dentistry (2021-2023; 2017-2020; 2016-2017)

Previous Members of the Executive Committee:

  • Bo Carlsson, Chair 2017-2018, Professor Emeritus of Economics (terms 2019-2022; 2016-2019)

  • Dorr Dearborn, Mary Ann Swetland Professor Emeritus of Environmental Health Sciences (term 2017-2020)

  • David Farrell, Professor Emeritus of Physics (terms 2016-2018; 2018-2021)

  • Marion Good, Chair 2020-2021, Professor Emerita of Nursing (terms 2020-2023; 2017-2020)

  • Merle (Terry) Hokenstad, Chair 2019-2020, Distinguished University Professor, Ralph S., and Dorothy P. Schmitt Professor of Global Health (School of Medicine) (terms 2021-2023; 2017-2020; 2016-2017)

  • Ulrich Hopfer, Professor Emeritus of Physiology and Biophysics (term 2016-2018)

  • Robert Lawry, Professor Emeritus of Law (terms 2018-2021; 2016-2018)

  • Jay Mann, Chair 2021-2022; 2016-2017, Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering (2022-2023 as non-voting past chair; 2019-2022; 2016-2019)

  • Gerald Matisoff, Professor Emeritus, Department of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences (term 2019-2022)

  • Alan Rocke, Distinguished University Professor and the Henry Eldridge Bourne Professor of History (term 2016-2019)

  • DUP: Sandra Russ, Distinguished University Professor and Louis D. Beaumont University Professor (terms 2019-2022; 2016-2019)

  • Ruth Siegel, Professor Emerita of Pharmacology (term 2020-2023)

  • May Wykle, Professor Emerita of Nursing (term 2016-2017)

  • John Yankey, the Leonard M. Mayo Professor Emeritus of Family and Child Welfare (term 2016-2017)

  • Stephen Zyzanski, Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine and Community Health (term 2016-2017)

* [Note: Since the nominating committee was unable to identify a candidate from the SODM for a term 2023-2026, two candidates from the SOM were elected.]