CWRU School of Law Jessup International Law Moot Court Team Wins Chicago Championship

2020 Jessup team

Case Western Reserve University School of Law’s Jessup International Law Moot Court Team went undefeated over the weekend in the Chicago Regional Competition held Feb. 7-9, 2020. The team went 4-0 and was the top seed out of 24 law schools after the preliminary rounds.

The team received the award for the third-best brief and awards for best speaker in the competition (Laura Graham), eighth-best speaker (Andrea Shaia) and ninth-best speaker (Anthony Severyn).  The applicant side, composed of Laura Graham and Elizabeth Safier, then proceeded to beat Wayne State in the quarter-final round, Loyola in the semi-final round and Wisconsin in the final round. 

It was the second year in a row that CWRU won the Chicago Jessup International Law Moot Court Championship, earning a berth in the International Rounds in DC in April for the ninth time in 17 years.  CWRU is the most recent U.S. team to win the World Championship of the world’s largest, oldest and most prestigious international moot court competition.  The Jessup team was coached by Dean Scharf and Jones Day partner Christopher McLaughlin, assisted by Professors Avi Cover, Jim Johnson, Andrew Pollis and Cassandra Robertson.