College of Arts and Sciences Experiential Learning Fellowships

Website Eligibility Deadline Past Winners CAS Undergraduates Deadline passed See below


The objective of the Experiential Learning Fellowships is to encourage and support individual undergraduate student projects in the humanities, arts, and social sciences for the purpose of providing opportunities for experiential learning to students seeking a major or minor in the College of Arts and Sciences. Three funds comprise the Experiential Learning Fellowship: the Rocksthe Experiential Learning Fellowship in Anthropology, and the Traub. Although the application process for the funds is the same, each has its own eligibility requirements.

A wide range of student projects is eligible for funding, including but not limited to support of research projects, Senior Capstone projects, travel to research conferences to present research, or project-oriented travel abroad associated with completion of majors or minors programs in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.


  1. The Rocks: Undergraduates who have declared a major or minor in programs offered by any of the following academic departments are eligible to apply: art history and art, classics, English, modern languages and literatures, music, and theatre and dance. In addition, students who have declared their intent of pursuing a major or minor in any of the college’s interdisciplinary programs in which faculty from the arts, humanities or social sciences departments listed above participate as program faculty are also eligible to apply.
  2. The Experiential Learning Fellowship in Anthropology: Undergraduates who have declared a major in Anthropology, have obtained at least sophomore status, hold at least an overall GPA of at least. 3.0, and have completed a minimum of 12 credits in anthropology, including ANTH 102 (Being Human: An Introduction to Social and Cultural Anthropology) are eligible to apply.
  3. The Traub: The George S. Traub Memorial Undergraduate Research Fund was established to support declared majors who are pursuing degrees offered by the College of Arts and Sciences related to the history, politics, public policy, or economics of the Northern Ohio region.

Students may apply for only one of three funds in a given year and can receive more than one award during their undergraduate careers.

Application Procedure

The Rocks and Traub application requirements:

  • Faculty sponsor/letter of recommendation
  • Application
  • 500-word proposal that includes:
    • A description of the goals or objectives of your project or experience
    • An overview of activities that will be conducted to achieve the goals and objectives stated in the proposal. In this overview, explain how you have or will address issues that are critical to the proposal’s implementation (e.g., IRB approval, letters of collaboration, etc.)
    • An outline of your ideas to report on the completed project or experience at a forum open to the University community. Include in this section a brief discussion of the potential format (seminar, poster, etc.) and forum (departmental seminar, Research ShowCase, SOURCE Symposium, etc.) that you plan to use.
  • An itemized budget. Include a justification for these expenses.
  • Deadline: March 9, 2018

The Experiential Learning Fellowship in Anthropology application requirements:

  • Faculty sponsor/letter of recommendation
  • Cover letter
  • Maximum 500-word description of your proposed experience or project which clearly states your goals, the activities that will be conducted to achieve your goals, and the anthropological relevance of your proposed activities
  • A budget which itemizes your expenses by category (e.g., travel, living expenses, various research expenses). Include a justification for these expenses 
  • Deadline: February 28, 2018

Value of the Award

The average award size for the Rocks, the Experiential Learning Fellowship in Anthropology, and the Traub is $5,000, noting that the Traub can award a larger fund.


Chandel Smith, Department Assistant
College of Arts and Sciences

Past Winners

The Rocks

The Traub


Paige Klopfenstein
Class of 2017

Eva Barrett
Class of 2018


Eliana Fabiyi
Class of 2014
Theater Arts


Abirami Subramanian
Class of 2012
Cognitive Science
Systems Biology


Austin Bennett
Class of 2011
Dean's Approved Major


Paavan Mehta
Class of 2011

Alexandra Litofsky
Class of 2012
Civil Engineering


Jane Atalig
Class of 2009
Japanese Studies


Ellen Kubit
Class of 2014
Political Science

Madison Ivan
Class of 2014

Return to Case Western Reserve University and Ohio Fellowships and Scholarships