Fulbright Scholar Program

Use the links below to jump to a section on this page

Increasing International Exchange

Case Western Reserve University strongly supports faculty and student participation in the Fulbright Program. The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international exchange program, designed to “increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.”

With this goal as a starting point, the core Fulbright Scholar Program provides nearly 500 teaching, research or combination teaching and research awards in more than 125 countries around the world. Participants are chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential and receive an opportunity to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

To view details on Fulbright Scholar awards, check eligibility guidelines and apply online, click here.

CWRU has several faculty who have been awarded Fulbright grants who are willing to share their experiences applying with their colleagues.

In addition, CWRU has two Fulbright Campus Liaisons, who are willing to answer questions and help guide faculty through the process: Molly Watkins and Kaitlyn Lionti.

View the Fulbright Scholar Program 2019-2020 Catalog of Awards

CWRU Faculty Fulbright Scholars 


Michael Goldberg, assistant professor in the Department of Design and Innovation, Weatherhead School of Management, was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship to teach at the Polytechnic in Windhoek, Namibia, for the summer of 2015. Topic: entrepreneurship.


Menachem Shoham, associate professor in the Department of Biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences, was awarded a Fulbright lecture and research grant to Kasetsart University in Bangkok, Thailand, for June-July 2013. Topic: agriculture.

Daniel Lacks, professor of chemical engineering in the Case School of Engineering, was awarded a Fulbright lecture and research grant to the American Center in Yangon, Burma for July – August 2013. Project Title: Engineering Education.


Brian Gran, associate professor in the Department of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences and School of Law, was awarded a Fulbright lecture and research grant to Reykjavik University in Reykjavik, Iceland, for January–April 2013. Project Title: Law and Children’s Rights in Private Settings.

Jeffrey Halpern, postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Case School of Engineering, was awarded a Fulbright research grant to Technion- Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa, Israel, for February 2013–October 2014. Project Title: Affinity-Based Nanosensor for Cancer Detection via Volatile Organic Compounds.

Walter Lambrecht, professor in the Department of Physics, College of Arts and Sciences, was awarded a Fulbright research grant to the Peter Gruenberg Institute in Juelich, Germany for July – December 2012. Project Title: Electronic Structure of Defects in Semiconductors.


Elliot Posner, associate professor of political science, was awarded a European Union Affairs Research Program Fulbright Scholarship for the spring semester of 2012. He was in Paris for the 2011–12 academic year working on his project, The European Union, Regulatory Cooperation and International Finance.

Marilyn Lotas, associate professor and associate dean for undergraduate programs at the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, was a Fulbright Scholar at the Alice Ramez Chagoury School of Nursing at the Lebanese American University of Beirut (LAU) in Lebanon.

Michael Goldberg, assistant visiting professor in the Weatherhead School of Management, received a Fulbright award to teach entrepreneurial finance at Vietnam’s National Economics University in Hanoi.

Anna Mandalakas, associate professor at the School of Medicine, spent 11 months in Tygerberg, South Africa, in collaboration with Stellenbosch University. She studied the benefits of isoniazid preventive therapy on children infected with tuberculosis.


Charles Rosenblatt, professor of physics and macromolecular science, spent the fall 2010 semester at the University Pierre et Marie Curie (University Paris VI) in France and conducted research focusing primarily on how an interface between two immiscible fluids becomes unstable and their subsequent complex flow.


Kathryn Lavelle, associate professor in the Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences, received a Fulbright for January–April 2010 to the University of Toronto for her research, Legislating for International Organizations: Democratic Constituencies and the Bretton Woods International Financial Institution.


Ronald Blanton, professor in the Center for Global Health and Diseases, School of Medicine, had a lecturing/research fellowship May–July 2009 to the Federal University of Bahia, Salvador, Brazil. Topic: Genetic epidemiology, Aedes Aegypti Gene Flow Mapping.


Joyce J. Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth Brooks Ford Professor of Nursing, was awarded a Fulbright lecture and research grant to conduct and teach research at University College Cork in Cork, Ireland. Her program is titled “Expanding Nursing Scholarship for the Discipline.”

Louise McKinney, Law professor, was awarded a Fulbright lecture and research grant. McKinney worked in southern Africa with the University of Botswana's law department on "Enhancing Clinical Education and Access to Justice in Botswana."


Steven Feldman, associate professor of management policy, received a distinguished lectureship to teach about international business ethics at Shanghai International Studies University.

Cheryl Toman, assistant professor of French and Francophone studies, received a lecturing/research grant to focus on Comparative Visions of Feminine Experience, "Women, Identity and Activism: Identifying Connections and Respecting Differences," at Lebanese American University in Beirut, Lebanon.


Insoo Hyun, Korea, Philosophy

William Stanley, Italy, Medical Sciences

Christopher Cullis, South Africa, Biological Sciences


John Grabowski, Turkey, History

Martha Woodmansee, Brazil, Language


Vesna Kutlesic, Serbia and Montenegro, Psychology


Vesna Kutlesic, Serbia and Montenegro, Psychology

Paul Laux, Portugal, Business Administration

Hiram Chodosh, India, Law


Sana Loue, Romania, Medical Sciences


Sana Loue, Romania, Medical Sciences

Louise McKinney, Kenya, Law


Robert Williams, South Africa

Kenneth Ledford, Germany, History

Nahida Gordon, West Bank, Medical Sciences


Doris Modly, Hungary, Medical Sciences

John Grabowski, Turkey, History


William Marling, Hungary, Medical Sciences


Janice Reiff, Germany, History

Michelle Facos, Sweden, Art History


Steven Feldman, Austria, Business Administration

Chaim Sukenik, Israel, Material Science and Engineering


Steven Feldman, Austria, Business Administration

Fulbright Visiting Scholar Program

The Worldwide Fulbright Scholar-in-Residence Program brings visiting scholars and professionals from abroad to lecture at U.S. colleges and universities for one semester or one academic year. CWRU and the Center for International Affairs can provide support to faculty and departments who want to host a scholar. The Council on the International Exchange of Scholars facilitates the visiting scholar program. For more information on the program, visit cies.org/programs.

Fulbright Student Awards

Student who are interested in pursuing a Fulbright award can apply as undergraduate senior or graduate students. For more information about this program, visit the Office of Undergraduate Studies website.