Faculty and Staff

Meet the faculty and staff in the Department of Cognitive Science in the College of Arts and Sciences at Case Western Reserve University.

Staff

Faculty

  • Adam Croom

    Adam Croom

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences

    Email: adam.croom@case.edu

  • Todd Oakley

    Todd Oakley

    Professor
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences

    Cognitive Semiotics, Linguistics, Social Cognition, Rhetoric, Language of Economics & Finance, Institutions

    Email: todd.oakley@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.0798

  • Headshot of Fey Parrill

    Fey Parrill

    Department Chair
    Professor
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences

    Embodied Cognition, Teaching & Learning, Climate Cognition

    Email: fey.parrill@case.edu

  • Yasuhiro Shirai

    Yasuhiro Shirai

    Professor
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences

    First Language Acquisition, Second Language Acquisition, Applied Linguistics, Tense-aspect, Corpus-Based Research, Usage-based Linguistics

    Email: yasuhiro.shirai@case.edu

  • Headshot of female smiling

    Vera Tobin

    Associate Professor
    Department of Cognitive Science

    Narrative, Literature, Surprise, Stories, Linguistics, Irony, Cognitive Bias, Cognitive Approaches to Literature

    Email: vera.tobin@case.edu

  • Mark Turner

    Mark Turner

    Institute professor
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences

    Cognitive Science, Linguistics, Cognition and Computation, Decision-Making, Data Science, Multimodal Communication

    Email: mark.turner@case.edu

    Phone: 216.744.0571

Affiliated Faculty

  • Headshot of Peter Whitehouse

    Peter Whitehouse, MD, PhD

    Professor
    Department of Neurology
    School of Medicine
    Professor
    Department of Psychiatry
    School of Medicine
    Professor
    Department of Neurosciences
    School of Medicine
    Professor
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Professor
    Department of Organizational Behavior
    Weatherhead School of Management

    Email: peter.whitehouse@case.edu

    Phone: 216.470.2931

  • Photo of Timothy Beal

    Timothy Beal, PhD

    Florence Harkness Professor of Religion
    Department of Religious Studies
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Director
    h.lab
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Program Faculty
    Environmental Studies Program
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Florence Harkness Professor of Religion
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences

    Email: timothy.beal@cwru.edu

    Phone: 216.368.2221

  • Picture of Richard Boyatzis

    Richard Boyatzis

    Distinguished University Professor
    H. Clark Ford Professor
    Weatherhead School of Management
    Professor
    Organizational Behavior
    Weatherhead School of Management

    Email: richard.boyatzis@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.2053

  • Image of headshot of Francesca Brittan

    Francesca Brittan, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Department of Music
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Affiliated Faculty
    Department of Cognitive Science
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Coordinator of Graduate Studies in Musicology

    Email: francesca.brittan@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.2032

  • Daniela Calvetti

    Daniela Calvetti, PhD

    James Wood Williamson Professor
    Department of Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics

    Email: daniela.calvetti@case.edu

  • Angela Hein Ciccia

    Angela Hein Ciccia, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Department of Psychological Sciences
    College of Arts and Sciences

    Email: angela.ciccia@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.5385

  • Heath Demaree Professor and Chair; Department Representative for Communication Sciences CWRU

    Heath Demaree

    Professor and Chair; Department Representative for Communication Sciences majors & minors
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Professor
    Department of Psychological Sciences
    College of Arts and Sciences

    Email: heath.demaree@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.6468

  • Robert Greene

    Robert Greene

    Professor and Chair
    Department of Psychological Sciences
    School of Dental Medicine
    Professor and Chair; Department Representative for Communication Sciences majors & minors
    Human Learning & Memory

    Email: robert.greene@case.edu

  • Yohannes Haile-Selassie

    Yohannes Haile-Selassie

    Adjunct Professor
    Department of Anthropology
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Paleoanthropologist
    Cleveland Museum of Natural History
    Professor and Director, Institute of Human Origins
    School of Human Evolution and Social Change
    Arizona State University

    Email: yhaileselassie@asu.edu

    Phone: 216.231.4600

  • Bruce Latimer

    Bruce Latimer

    Former Executive Director
    Cleveland Museum of Natural History
    Adjunct Professor
    Department of Anthropology
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Associate Professor and the Director of the Biological Anthropology Program
    Department of Anatomy
    School of Medicine

    Email: bruce.latimer@case.edu

  • Peter Thomas headshot

    Peter Thomas, PhD, MA, MS, BA

    Professor
    Department of Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics

    Email: peter.j.thomas@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.3623

Emeritus Faculty

External Affiliated Faculty

Michael Householder

Michael Householder

Professor, Director of Undergraduate Curriculum, School of Humanities, Arts and Sciences

St. Catherine University