People

In the Neural Engineering Center (NEC) in Case Western Reserve University's Department of Biomedical Engineering, our scientists are dedicated to research and education at the interface between neuroscience and engineering. We share the common goal of analyzing the function of the nervous system, developing methods to restore damaged neurological function, and creating artificial neuronal systems by integrating physical, chemical, mathematical, biological and engineering tools.

Our primary members and emeriti faculty (listed below) work closely with the following groups to advance the work of the NEC:

NEC Primary Members

  • Abidemi Bolu Ajiboye

    Abidemi Bolu Ajiboye

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering

    Email: abidemi.ajiboye@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.6814

  • Portrait of Jeffrey Capadona

    Jeffrey Capadona, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering

    Email: jeffrey.capadona@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.5486

  • Portrait of Hamid Charkhkar

    Hamid Charkhkar, PhD

    Research Assistant Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering
    School of Medicine

    Email: hamid.charkhkar@case.edu

    Phone: 216.791.3800 ext. 62924

  • Image of headshot of Dominique Durand

    Dominique M. Durand, PhD

    Elmer Lincoln Lindseth Professor in Biomedical Engineering
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering
    School of Medicine
    Professor
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    Case School of Engineering
    Professor
    Department of Neurosciences
    School of Medicine
    Professor
    Department of Physiology and Biophysics
    School of Medicine
    Director
    Neural Engineering Center
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering
    School of Medicine

    Email: dominique.durand@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.3974

  • Portrait of Kenneth Gustafson

    Kenneth J. Gustafson, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Neural Engineering Center
    Department of Biomedical Engineering

    Email: kenneth.gustafson@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.8626

  • Robert Kirsch

    Robert Kirsch

    Chair and Allen H. and Constance T. Ford Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering

    Email: robert.kirsch@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.4063

  • Portrait of Michael Moffitt

    Michael Moffitt, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering
    School of Medicine

    Email: michael.moffitt@case.edu

  • Aasef G. Shaikh, MD, PhD

    Aasef G. Shaikh, MD, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Department of Neurology
    Case Western Reserve University
    School of Medicine
    Staff Neurologist
    University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

    Email: aasef.shaikh@case.edu

  • Portrait of Andrew Shoffstall

    Andrew Shoffstall

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering

    Email: andrew.shoffstall@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.1213

  • Portrait of Ronald J. Triolo

    Ronald J. Triolo

    Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Department of Orthodontics
    Case School of Engineering
    Director
    Advanced Platform Technology Center of the Department of Veterans Affairs
    Staff Scientist
    Department of Orthopaedics
    MetroHealth System

    Email: ronald.triolo@case.edu

    Phone: 216.791.3800

  • Dustin Tyler headshot in suit jacket, tie and blue oxford shirt

    Dustin Tyler

    Professor
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering
    Kent H. Smith Professor II of Biomedical Engineering
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Case School of Engineering
    Director
    Human Fusions
    Associate Director
    Cleveland Advanced Platform for Technology

    Email: dustin.tyler@case.edu

    Phone: 216.368.0319

Emeriti Faculty

Portrait of Patrick Crago

Patrick E. Crago

Professor Emeritus Department of Biomedical Engineering Case School of Engineering School of Medicine

Email: patrick.crago@case.edu

Phone: 216.368.3977


Portrait of J. Thomas Mortimer

J. Thomas (Tom) Mortimer

Emeritus Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering Case School of Engineering School of Medicine

Email: j.mortimer@case.edu

Phone: 216.368.3973


Portrait of P. Hunter Peckham

P. Hunter Peckham, PhD

Distinguished University Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering Case School of Engineering School of Medicine

Director Cleveland VA Rehabilitation R&D Center of Excellence on FES - Functional Electrical Stimulation

Associate Director of Technology Transfer Cleveland FES Center

Email: p.peckham@case.edu

Phone: 216.778.3480