Affiliated Training Sites

University Hospitals aerial view

Our trainees gain experience in top-ranked medical centers

University Hospitals

University Hospitals (UH) is a tertiary-care center with multiple satellite sites. University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center is a 1,032-bed academic medical center and tertiary care hospital, and is ranked by U.S. News & World Report as one of America’s best hospitals in six medical and surgical specialties.  UH has six connected specialty hospitals and is home to 91 residencies and fellowships, including surgical subspecialties in: neurology, orthopaedic, otolaryngology, ophthalmology and urology. The departmental structure consists of:

  • Cardiac
  • Colon and Rectal
  • General
  • Minimally Invasive
  • Bariatric
  • Endoscopy
  • Pediatrics
  • Plastic/Reconstructive
  • Oncology
  • Thoracic/Esophageal
  • Transplant/Hepatobiliary
  • Vascular/Endovascular
  • Urology

For more information about University Hospitals, visit:‌

University Hospitals Ahuja Medical Center building

University Hospitals Ahuja Medical Center

University Hospitals Ahuja Medical Center was designed for maximum comfort and efficiency, and offers comprehensive patient-centered care, advanced technology and therapies and a wide range of inpatient and outpatient services. It is a 53-acre campus 144-bed, six story community hospital within the University Hospitals system. It is located at the intersection of Harvard road and U.S. Route 271 about nine miles (25 minutes drive) from University Hospitals Case Medical Center.

For more information about the University Hospitals Ahuja Medical Center, visit:

University Hospitals St. John Medical Center with sign in foreground saying main entrance, emergency st. john medical center a catholic hospital, UH logo with Universersity Hospital text, and Sisters of Charity Health System with Logo, with building in background.

University Hospitals St. John Medical Center

St. John Medical Center is a 204-bed, full-service, nonprofit, acute care hospital providing comprehensive healthcare to residents of western Cuyahoga and eastern Lorain counties. The medical center, which is co-owned by University Hospitals and the Sisters of Charity Health System, is a provider of Catholic health care. As such, it follows the ethical and religious directives for Catholic Health Care Services. Opening its doors in 1981, the medical center was the result of a merger between two longstanding healthcare institutions: St. John Hospital in Cleveland and Bay View Osteopathic General Hospital in Bay Village.

Today, St. John is the largest employer in the City of Westlake with more than 1,200 employees. More than 500 serve on its medical staff, and more than 300 volunteers provide the organization with their time and talents. St. John Medical Center is a teaching hospital and maintains an affiliation with the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine. Also, the medical center is affiliated with Westshore Primary Care, Inc., a consortium of more than 50 physicians who range in specialties from family practice to obstetrics.

For more information about University Hospitals St. John Medical Center, visit

Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center

Louis B. Stokes VA Medical Center

The Louis B. Stokes VA Medical Center is a major teaching hospital of the Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. It has 350 acute care beds, 185 nursing home beds and 137 domiciliary beds. This is a regional referral center for cardiac surgery, major vascular cases, bariatric cases and spinal cord injury services for the northeastern United States. It is a training site for residents in:

  • General surgery
  • Orthopaedic surgery
  • Otolaryngology
  • Urology
  • Cardiothoracic surgery
  • Ophthalmology
  • Plastic surgery
  • Neurosurgery
  • Internal medicine
  • Psychiatry
  • Neurology

For more information about the Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center visit:

MetroHealth Medical Center

MetroHealth Medical Center

MetroHealth Medical Center is located just southwest of downtown Cleveland. It is a tertiary care center for acutely ill patients. MetroHealth is an American College of Surgeons (ACS) verified Level I Trauma Center for adults and children. It is also an ACS verified Regional Burn Center. It has four helicopters that are active 24 hours a day, seven days a week, providing a steady stream of complex trauma patients. The departmental structure consists of the following:

  • General Surgery
  • Minimally invasive
  • Colorectal
  • Endoscopy
  • Endocrine
  • Oncology
  • Burns/Trauma/Critical Care
  • Cardiothoracic (CT) Surgery
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Neurosurgery

For more information about MetroHealth Medical Center, visit: