The National Academies

Election to any of the National Academies is among the highest honors that academic faculty can receive.  A number of CWRU faculty are elected members of one or more of the national academies in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in their discipline. 

*denotes former; denotes deceased )

The National Academy of Education fellowship programs seek to encourage a new generation of scholars to undertake research relevant to the improvement of education, or to support early career scholars working in critical areas of education research.

Eileen P. Anderson-Fye, Spencer Fellow

The National Academy of Engineering is a nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. Members are elected by current NAE members, representing  one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. 

James M. Anderson

Eric W. Kaler

P. Hunter Peckham

Emeriti Faculty

John Angus

Arthur H. Heuer

Jack Koenig

Harry Mergler

Simon Ostrach

Eli Reshotko

Alexander R. Troiano

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) recognizes inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhances the visibility of academic technology and innovation, and translates the inventions of its members to benefit society.  Fellows are nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions, support, and enhancement of innovation.  


Scott Bruder

Jeffrey L. Duerk*

Mark A. Griswold

Joseph P. Iannotti

Trevor O. Jones

Eric W. Kaler, Charter Fellow

Zheng-Rong Lu

Anant Madabhusi*

Sanford Markowitz

Robert H. Miller*

Francis Papay

P. Hunter Peckham

Dustin Tyler

Senior Members

Drew Adams

Ozan Akkus

Rohan Akolkar

Susann Brady-Kalnay

Mark Chance

Margot Damaser

Stanton Gerson

William Grissom

Umut Gurkan

Kevin Kilgore

Dan Ma

Pedram Mohseni

Paul Tesar

Satish Viswanath

The National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) members are elected in recognition of their professional achievement and commitment to volunteer service in activities of the Academy.

James M. Anderson

Walter F. Boron

John Chae

Delos M. Cosgrove III*

Pamela Bowes Davis

Charis Eng

Richard W. Hanson

Stanley L. Hazen

Mukesh K. Jain

Kurt Stange 

Emeriti Faculty

Duncan vB.Neuhauser

George Stark

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars.  Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. 

Cynthia M. Beall

Melvyn C. Goldstein

Emeriti Faculty

Lynn T. Landmesser

George Stark

Kavli Frontiers of Science Fellows

Ahmad M. Khalil

LaShanda Korley*

Jonathan Pokorski*